Image for Triple J Hottest 100 2012 (Vol. 20) Album Due Out 22nd February

Triple J Hottest 100 2012 (Vol. 20) Album Due Out 22nd February

Written by Marc Zanotti on February 13, 2013

Triple j’s Hottest 100 Vol. 20 is due for release on Friday, 22nd February. As with every year, the 2-disc compilation will reflect the will of the people, being made up of the songs triple j listeners voted into the Hottest 100 2012.

This year’s edition of the Hottest 100 double disc will feature the indie-folk of Of Monsters and Men, the dance-pop of Icona Pop, and the hip-hop of Seth Sentry, as the mix weaves through a wide variety of musical styles.

It’s been 20 years since the very first triple j’s Hottest 100 (not of all-time). Back in’93 Denis Leary’s Asshole came in at #1, beating out the likes of Creep by Radiohead, Killing in the Name by RATM, and Heart-Shaped Box by Nirvana.

This year Thrift Shop by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis fought off Get Free by Major Lazer, Feels Like We Only Go Backwards by Tame Impala, and Breezeblocks by Alt-J to do the same.

If time has taught us anything, it’s that The Hottest 100 is a reflection of what’s currently popular rather than a projection of longevity, and there’s nothing wrong with that. So relax, let loose, sing your heart out, and dance the night away to the soundtrack of 2012.

Triple j’s Hottest 100 Vol. 20 out Friday, 22nd February.

Triple j’s Hottest 100 Vol. 20 – Tracklist

Disc 1:

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – Thrift Shop (ft. Wanz)
Flume – Holdin On
The Rubens – My Gun
alt-J – Breezeblocks
Frank Ocean – Lost
Florence + The Machine – Spectrum (Say My Name) (Calvin Harris Remix)
Loon Lake – Cherry Lips
The Black Keys – Gold On The Ceiling
Major Lazer – Get Free (ft. Amber Coffman)
Chet Faker – I’m Into You
The xx – Angels
Seth Sentry – Dear Science
Django Django – Default
Miike Snow – Paddling Out
Parachute Youth – Can’t Get Better Than This
Ball Park Music – Coming Down
MS MR – Hurricane
Skrillex – Bangarang (ft. Sirah)
Birds Of Tokyo – This Fire
Two Door Cinema Club – Sun
Alpine – Gasoline

Disc 2:

Of Monsters & Men – Little Talks
Tame Impala – Elephant
Icona Pop – I Love It (ft. Charli XCX)
360 – Run Alone
The Temper Trap – Trembling Hands
Disclosure – Latch (ft. Sam Smith)
Rudimental – Not Giving In (ft. John Newman & Alex Clare)
Mumford & Sons – I Will Wait
Grimes – Oblivion
Asta – My Heart Is On Fire
Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs – Household Goods
San Cisco – Fred Astaire
Chance Waters – Young And Dumb (ft. Bertie Blackman)
Hermitude – HyperParadise (Flume Remix)
Feed Me & Crystal Fighters – Love Is All I Got
Everything Everything – Cough Cough
Alabama Shakes – Hold On
Sticky Fingers – Caress Your Soul
Bat For Lashes – Laura
Flight Facilities – Clair De Lune (ft. Christine Hoberg)

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

More On Music Feeds


US Students Chant Kendrick Lamar’s ‘Alright’ At Police Brutality Rally

Earlier this month, FOX News anchor Geraldo Rivera said rappers like Kendrick Lamar have “done more damage to young African-Americans than racism”, but Cleveland State University students protesting against police brutality don’t agree, and have chanted Lamar’s song Alright after an alleged act of such brutality.


Puscifer Announce New Album ‘Money Shot’, Share New Song ‘Grand Canyon’

While the world waits for the super-highly-anticipated new Tool album, the band’s frontman, Maynard James Keenan, has announced Money Shot, the new album from his electronic-rock side project, Puscifer.


Macy Gray’s Love Song To Her Vibrator Gets Cute Animated Video

Not only has singer-songwriter Macy Gray written a love song about her vibrator, she’s also called it B.


Aussie Rapper Ivan Ooze Reacts To Azealia Banks’ Comments About Australian Crowds

Melbourne indie rapper Ivan Ooze has spoken out against US rapper Azealia Banks, calling her “a cyber bully” who “doesn’t deserve to tour this country” after she voiced her disappointment with both Australian audiences and Splendour In The Grass only days after performing at the festival.


Hear Meg Mac’s Gospel-Infused New Single ‘Never Be’

Off the back of her Splendour In The Grass performance, Aussie soul-pop artist Meg Mac has finally dropped her new single Never Be, which is set to get quite a workout during her upcoming national tour.


Cancer Bats Announce ‘Destroy Australia’ Tour With High Tension

Toronto hardcore punks Cancer Bats are getting up to no good this September and October, with their Destroy Australian Tour featuring Melbourne rockers High Tension now locked in place.

Around the web

This May Also Interest You