Custom styles

Image for Amity Affliction, Jane Tyrrell & More Make Coopers AMP 2014 Longlist

Amity Affliction, Jane Tyrrell & More Make Coopers AMP 2014 Longlist

Written by Nastassia Baroni on November 10, 2014

The 10th Coopers Australian Music Prize (AMP) longlist continues to brim with Australian talent as even more local artists including The Amity Affliction, Jane Tyrrell and Joelistics go in the running to win the $30,000 prize donated by PPCA.

The Amity Affliction, who recently announced their split with Guitarist Troy Brady mid-tour, have been nominated off the back of their 2014 album Let The Ocean Take Me. “More metalcore to blow away the cobwebs,” said an AMP judge of the record. “These dudes are killing it in this genre and there’s so much to tap into here,” said another.

Melbourne musician Jane Tyrrell found a place on the longlist thanks to her debut solo album Echoes In The Aviary, described by an AMP judge as “a well considered record”. “There’s great space between the vocals and the music but they compliment each other exceptionally well never feeling disjointed or out of step,” they add.

Other acts also named on the longlist include Angus and Julia Stone with their self titled 2014 release, Sticky Fingers and their record Land Of Pleasure, Thundamentals with So We Can Remember, Joelistics’ Blue Volume and many more.

The Australian Music Prize longlist is decided by a panel made up of musicians, retailers and music media figures that come “highly recommended by other industry folk”. Heading up this year’s panel as its Chairperson is the Hoodoo Gurus’ Dave Faulkner, who is also tasked with allocating albums to judges to listen to, then advising the Prize Director when the judges would like an album longlisted.

Other members of the judging panel include Double J’s Myf Warhurst, acclaimed singer/songwriter Jen Cloher, The Jezabels’ Sam Lockwood, Tim Levinson aka Urthboy, Red Eye Records’ Chris Berkley and more. See the entire panel of judges below.

Judges are still taking submissions for eligible albums hoping to be considered for the grand prize, with nominations closing on midnight November 17th. They will also accept pre-release copies of any albums being commercially released between November 17th and December 31st 2014 so that all calendar year releases are heard.

To be eligible, the work must have been released in Australia in 2014 by an Australian act and the album should consist of nine or more separate tracks, with a run time of at least 33 minutes 20 seconds.

Last year’s winners of the 30K were Big Scary with their second studio album Not Art. Other past winners include The Drones in 2005 for Wait Long By The River And The Bodies of You Enemies Will Float By and Augie March for Moo, You Bloody Choir in 2006.

You can check out all the additions to the Coopers AMP longlist below.

Watch: The Amity Affliction – The Weigh Down

The10th Coopers AMP Longlist Additions

HITS – Hikikomori
Firekites – Closing Forever Sky
Joelistics – Blue Volume
Emma Russack – You Changed Me
Lowtide – Lowtide
Sticky Fingers – Land Of Pleasure
Guerre – Ex Nihilo
Angus and Julia Stone – Angus and Julia Stone
Thundamentals – So We Can Remember
Dune Rats – Dune Rats
The Amity Affliction – Let The Ocean Take Me
Jane Tyrrell – Echoes In The Aviary


#1 Dads– About Face
Allday – Startup Cult
Augie March – Havens Dumb
Ball Park Music– Puddinghead
Bird Traps – The Colour Fields
Blank Realm – Grassed Inn
Bored Nothing – Some Songs
Briggs – Sheplife
Buried In Verona – Faceless
CaitlinPark – The Sleeper
Chet Faker – Built On Glass
C.W.Stoneking – Gon’ Boogaloo
DZ Deathrays – Black Rat
East Brunswick All Girls Choir – Seven Drummers
Fishing– Shy Glow
Harmony– Carpetbombing
Harts – Daydreamer
HilltopHoods – Walking Under Stars
HTRK – Psychic 9-5 Club
John Butler Trio – Flesh & Blood
Kate Miller-Heidke – O Vertigo
Laura Jean – Laura Jean
Lowlakes – Iceberg Nerves
Mia Dyson – Idyllwyld
Nun – Nun
One Day– Mainline
REMI – Raw X Infinity
RichardIn YourMind – Ponderosa
Sally Seltmann – Hey Daydreamer
Seekae – The Worry
Straight Arrows– Rising
Sweet Amphetamines – Duke
Tape/Off – Chipper
Teeth &Tongue – Grids
The Peep Tempel– Tales
Tom E. Lewis – Beneath The Sun
Total Control – Typical System

+ more to be announced

Judging Panel For The 10th Coopers AMP

Dave Faulkner – Chairperson of the panel. Member of the Hoodoo Gurus.
Bernard Zuel – MEDIA at the Sydney Morning Herald.
Bryget Chrisfield – MEDIA at NEW to the panel this year.
Chris Berkley – RETAIL at Red Eye Records.
Chris Johnston – MEDIA at The Age.
Christopher Powell – RETAIL at Blackwood Sound.
Jen Cloher – EST. ARTIST. NEW to the panel this year.
Mike Glynn – RETAIL at JB Hi FI.
Mikey Cahill – MEDIA at The Herald Sun.
Myf Warhurst – MEDIA at Double J. NEW to the panel this year.
Nate Nott – RETAIL at Polyester Records.
Sam Lockwood – EST. ARTIST – The Jezabels.
Sarah Smith – MEDIA at NEW to the panel this year.
Shannon Logan – RETAIL at Jet Black Cat Music.
Tim Levinson – EST. ARTIST – Urthboy

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

Ingage unit

Monitoring string

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"

Tracking script