Remi Takes Out The $30,000 10th Coopers Australian Music Prize

Melbourne MC Remi has been awarded the $30,000 10th Coopers Australian Music Prize, with the judging panel naming his 2014 debut album Raw X Infinity, the best Australian album of the past year.

Remi was one of the nine names on the shortlist for the prize, which were culled from a previous longlist of 65 albums by the 15 member industry judging panel. Other names on the shortlist included #1 Dads, Chet Faker, C.W. Stoneking, Caitlin Park, Blank Realm, Laura Jean, The Peep Tempel and Total Control.

Upon accepting the award tonight, reports the Guardian, Remi remarked that, it is “amazing” for an independent release to get this kind of recognition. “I mean, we made this album in [producer] Sensible J’s spare bedroom so to be nominated at this level is pretty mind-blowing. We really just want to say a massive thanks to anyone who has listened to it closely and supported us so far,” he added.

Remi now joins previous AMP winners Augie March (Moo, You Bloody Choir – 2006), Eddy Current Suppression Ring (Primary Colours – 2008), The Jezabels (Prisoner – 2011), Hermitude (HyperParadise – 2012) and 2013’s winner Big Scary for Not Art. Interestingly, Tom Iansek of Big Scary was also shortlitsed for the prize this year under his #1 Dads moniker.

Remi can now claim his $30,000 prize, courtesy of PPCA. Raw X Infinity was also awardded another cash prize last year, when Remi picked up the $50,000 Carlton Dry Global Music Grant. It also won best independent release at the 2015 Rolling Stone Australia awards.

Watch: REMI – XTC Party

Photos: Allday, Remi, Baro – Sydney, The Metro 10/10/14. Photographed by Liam Cameron

The 10th Coopers AMP Shortlist

About Face – #1Dads

Built On Glass – Chet Faker

Gon’ Boogaloo – C.W. Stoneking

GrassedInn – Blank Realm

Laura Jean – Laura Jean

Raw X Infinty – REMI – WINNER

Tales’ – The Peep Tempel

The Sleeper – Caitlin Park

TypicalSystem – Total Control

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more