Image for John Butler Trio, Augie March Make Coopers AMP 2014 Longlist

John Butler Trio, Augie March Make Coopers AMP 2014 Longlist

Written by Marc Zanotti on October 23, 2014

The 10th Coopers Australian Music Prize (AMP) longlist continues to grow, brimming with local talent. Joining already announced longlisters Briggs, Chet Faker, and DZ Deathrays are Augie March, John Butler Trio, and Bored Nothing, among others.

Artists nominated for the Coopers AMP are in the running for a $30,000 payout, thanks to PPCA. Every original LP released between 1st January to the 31st December 2014 is eligible for the Coopers AMP. To qualify as an ‘album’ proper, the record must have least nine tracks or run for 33 minutes and 20 seconds.

Last year saw Big Scary walk away $30K richer thanks to their second studio album Not Art. Other past winners include Augie March, up for consideration again in 2014, Hermitude, The Jezabels, and Lisa Mitchell. This year’s winner will be announced in March 2015.

The winner will be decided by a panel of judges and submissions are still welcome. If you know of a record that should be up for consideration you can submit any eligible records for the 10th Cooper AMP here.

You can check out the full Coopers AMP longlist below.

Watch: John Butler Trio – Only One

The10th Coopers AMP Longlist

#1 Dads– About Face
Allday – Startup Cult
Augie March – Havens Dumb
Ball Park Music– Puddinghead
Bird Traps – The Colour Fields
Blank Realm – Grassed Inn
Bored Nothing – Some Songs
Briggs – Sheplife
Buried In Verona – Faceless
CaitlinPark – The Sleeper
Chet Faker – Built On Glass
C.W.Stoneking – Gon’ Boogaloo
DZ Deathrays – Black Rat
East Brunswick All Girls Choir – Seven Drummers
Fishing– Shy Glow
Harmony– Carpetbombing
Harts – Daydreamer
HilltopHoods – Walking Under Stars
HTRK – Psychic 9-5 Club
John Butler Trio – Flesh & Blood
Kate Miller-Heidke – O Vertigo
Laura Jean – Laura Jean
Lowlakes – Iceberg Nerves
Mia Dyson – Idyllwyld
Nun – Nun
One Day– Mainline
REMI – Raw X Infinity
RichardIn YourMind – Ponderosa
Sally Seltmann – Hey Daydreamer
Seekae – The Worry
Straight Arrows– Rising
Sweet Amphetamines – Duke
Tape/Off – Chipper
Teeth &Tongue – Grids
The Peep Tempel– Tales
Tom E. Lewis – Beneath The Sun
Total Control – Typical System

+ more to be announced

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"