King Gizzard, Bertie Blackman Among Final Additions To 10th Coopers AMP Longlist

The 10th Coopers Australian Music Prize (AMP) longlist is now complete, with the addition of the final six albums to the 65-strong list, including records by the likes of King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Bertie Blackman and Lanie Lane.

The other three newly-added longlist albums belong to Sydney four-piece Daily Meds, Melbourne prog-rockers Krakatau and enigmatic indie-pop artist Shiny Joe Ryan. The eventual winner of this year’s AMP will take home $30,000 in prize money thanks to PPCA.

Blues and jazz singer-songwriter Lanie Lane, whose second album Night Shade is now in the running for the grand prize, has said that celebrating the achievements of artists can only be a good thing.

“Super excited and grateful that Night Shade is nominated for the AMP Award this year,” she said. “It’s always lovely when the arts are acknowledged and celebrated. Congratulations and good luck to all the other nominees!”

There are 15 industry experts judging this year’s albums, including Sam Lockwood of 2011 Coopers AMP winners The Jezabels, who has been super-pleased with the musical talent on offer this year.

“To make the longlist is a massive achievement in itself. I mean, look at the quality on this year’s longlist. It’s both a credit to the individual artists and also the Australian music scene in general,” Lockwood has said.

“As a recording artist it’s an amazing – and inspiring – experience to listen to the breadth of styles and see how hard many musicians have worked to get their album out there. And that is what the AMP is for I think. To justly reward those musicians who for some reason try so hard to make music that means so much.”

The Coopers AMP longlist will now be stripped back to a shortlist, to be announced on 21st January 2015. The winning act will be announced at a 10th anniversary dinner on 4th March. View the updated longlist in full, below.

Watch: King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Hot Wax

The 10th Coopers AMP Longlist Additions

Bertie Blackman – The Dash

Daily Meds – Sour Milk

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – I’m In Your Mind Fuzz

Krakatau – Water Near A Bridge

Lanie Lane – Night Shade

Shiny Joe Ryan – Shiny Joe Ryan & The Cosmic Microwave Background


#1 Dads – About Face

Allday – Startup Cult

The Amity Affliction – Let The Ocean Take Me

Angus and Julia Stone – Angus and Julia Stone

Augie March – Havens Dumb

Ball Park Music – Puddinghead

Bird Traps – The Colour Fields

Blank Realm – Grassed Inn

Bored Nothing – Some Songs

Briggs – Sheplife

Buried In Verona – Faceless

Caitlin Park – The Sleeper

Chet Faker – Built On Glass

C.W.Stoneking – Gon’ Boogaloo

Dune Rats – Dune Rats

DZ Deathrays – Black Rat

East Brunswick All Girls Choir – Seven Drummers

Emma Russack – You Changed Me

Firekites – Closing Forever Sky

Fishing – Shy Glow

Guerre – Ex Nihilo

Harmony – Carpetbombing

Harts – Daydreamer

Hilltop Hoods – Walking Under Stars

HITS – Hikikomori

HTRK – Psychic 9-5 Club

Jane Tyrrell – Echoes In The Aviary

John Butler Trio – Flesh & Blood

Joelistics – Blue Volume

Kate Miller-Heidke – O Vertigo

Laura Jean – Laura Jean

Lowlakes – Iceberg Nerves

Lowtide – Lowtide

Mia Dyson – Idyllwyld

Nun – Nun

One Day – Mainline

REMI – Raw X Infinity

Richard In Your Mind – Ponderosa

Sally Seltmann – Hey Daydreamer

Seekae – The Worry

Sticky Fingers – Land Of Pleasure

Straight Arrows – Rising

Sweet Amphetamines – Duke

Tape/Off – Chipper

Teeth & Tongue – Grids

The Peep Tempel – Tales

Thundamentals – So We Can Remember

Tom E. Lewis – Beneath The Sun

Total Control – Typical System

Judging Panel For The 10th Coopers AMP

Dave Faulkner – Chairperson of the panel. Member of the Hoodoo Gurus.

Bernard Zuel – MEDIA at the Sydney Morning Herald.

Bryget Chrisfield – MEDIA at NEW to the panel this year.

Chris Berkley – RETAIL at Red Eye Records.

Chris Johnston – MEDIA at The Age.

Christopher Powell – RETAIL at Blackwood Sound.

Jen Cloher – EST. ARTIST. NEW to the panel this year.

Mike Glynn – RETAIL at JB Hi FI.

Mikey Cahill – MEDIA at The Herald Sun.

Myf Warhurst – MEDIA at Double J. NEW to the panel this year.

Nate Nott – RETAIL at Polyester Records.

Sam Lockwood – EST. ARTIST – The Jezabels.

Sarah Smith – MEDIA at NEW to the panel this year.

Shannon Logan – RETAIL at Jet Black Cat Music.

Tim Levinson – EST. ARTIST – Urthboy

Must Read