Anderson .Paak Releases New Track ‘King James’ & Tracklist For New Album, ‘Ventura’

Less than six months after the release of his last album, Oxnard, Anderson .Paak has given us a new track ‘King James’ along with a tracklist for his upcoming album Ventura.

No abider to that ‘two year rule’, .Paak’s seventh studio album (in as many years) is set for release next month, Friday 12th April.

Following up last year’s Dr Dre-produced album, ‘King James’ is our first sample of Ventura, it’s full of funky beats and .Paak’s smart lyrics, delivered as smooth as ever. The whole song is a goosebump-sparker.

Paak discusses the current race issues in the US, shouting out LA Lakers’ star LeBron James, “And we salute King James/ for using his change to create some equal opportunities” he sings.

He mentions the NFL’s national anthem controversy too, “But when I finally took a knee/Them crackers took me out the league/Now I’m not much for games/But I play for keeps” – referencing San Francisco 49ers player, Colin Kaepernick taking a knee during the national anthem to protest police brutality and racial inequality.

“Growing up in Oxnard gave me the grit and the church to find this voice of mine. One town over I went further and found my depth,” said .Paak in a statement.

“The duality of each place inspired me greatly and from that I made two albums at the exact same time but held one back because that would have been too many songs to perform live for you all! I like ending things on an even number so welcome to Ventura”

Along with ‘King James’, we’ve received the new album’s tracklist as well, which has revealed some exciting features.

The 11-track album sees features from André 3000, Smokey Robinson, RnB artist Brandy, Jazmine Sullivan, and more.

Listen to ‘King James’ and view the full tracklist below.

‘Ventura’ Tracklisting

Available Friday, 12th April.

1. Come Home (Feat. Andre 3000)

2. Make it Better (Feat. Smoke Robinson)

3. Reachin’ 2 Much (Feat. Lalah Hathaway)

4. Winners Circle

5. Good Heels (feat. Jazmine Sullivan)

6. Yada Yada

7. King James

8. Chosen One (feat. Sonyae Elise)

9. Jet Black (feat. Brandy)

10. Twilight

11. What Can We Do? (feat. Nate Dogg)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more