Australia Is Getting A New Indie Music Event Called Indie-Con

The UK’s indie music conference Indie-Con — known for hosting thoughtful discussions on issues facing independent artists and labels — is coming to Australia later this year.

Indie-Con Australia will make its debut in Adelaide this July, in conjunction with this year’s 11th AIR (Australian Independent Record Labels Association) Awards, and it’ll feature a long list of industry speakers.

The likes of artists Adam Briggs (A.B. Original/Bad Apples Music) and Jen Cloher (Milk Records) will speak, as will industry and label heads like Portia Sabin (Kill Rock Stars/Future of What), Richard James Burgess (A2IM), Paul Pacifico (AIM) and George Howard (Berklee/Forbes). The event’s opening keynote will be presented by MGM’s Sebastian Chase.

Attendees are being promised insights into the latest advancement in music products, services and strategies, as well as a whole lotta’ networking opportunities.

“Indie-Con Australia will feature unrivalled networking opportunities, workshops, panels, presentations and interviews with key industry players,” says conference programmer Stu Watters.

“One of the things that makes the independent sector truly appealing is that the business models are all quite diverse and they don’t fit a mould, they are cutting their own track along the way and this conference is all about sharing those stories.”

Indie-Con will be held in Adelaide for the next three years. Catch this year’s first list of speakers alongside conference dates and ticket details, below.

Indie-Con Australia 2017 Speakers:

Sebastian Chase (MGM)

Portia Sabin (Kill Rock Stars/Future of What)

Richard James Burgess (A2IM)

Paul Pacifico (AIM)

George Howard (Berklee/Forbes)

Mishal Varma (Know What’s Loved)

Amy Dietz (InGrooves)

Joanna Syme (Pieater/Hotel Motel Records)

Joe Alexander (Bedroom Suck)

Jane Slingo (Young Strangers)

Matt Rogers (UNFD)

Matt Bird (Whitesky)

Ashley Gay (Xelon)

Tom Harris (Whitesky)

Henry Compton (The Orchard)

Karl Richter (Level 2/Disco)

Kate Mills (Native Tongue)

Tyler McLoughlin (The Soundpound)

Ben Godding (AWAL/Kobalt)

Jay Mogis (QUT/Nightlife)

Lynne Small (PPCA)

John Ferris (TMRW)

Andy Hayden (Poison City Records)

Nick O’Byrne (Lookout Kid)

Katie Besgrove (Barley Dressed Records)

Jen Cloher (Milk Records)

Briggs (Bad Apples/A.B.Original)

Susan Cotchin (IRR Music)

Chris Maund (Liberation)

Tim Kelly (Inertia)

Merida Sussex (Stolen Recordings/Paradse Motel)

Natalie Waller (ABC)

James Limon (ABC)

Maya Janeska (UNFD)

Ben Martin (Golden Era Records)

+ more TBA

Indie-Con Australia 2017

AIR members will receive invitations to attend Indie-Con Australia 2017. Limited tickets on sale to non-members from 6th July

Thursday, 27th — Friday, 28th July

Tandanya National Aboriginal Cultural Institute, Adelaide

Tickets: AIR

Must Read