Big Scary Drop New Single ‘Over Matter’ From Forthcoming Album ‘Animal’

First there was rumbling in the bush, now Big Scary have let out an almighty roar that is the latest official single, dubbed Over Matter, taken from their forthcoming album Animal.

Populated by Tom Iansek’s unmistakable falsetto and sustained by Jo Syme’s optimistic beat, Over Matter takes the listener on a six-minute sonic, allowing for moments of contemplation or even meditation.

The pair released a few words on the mission statement behind Over Matter:

“Musically this song focuses on the interplay of layers, many of them simple and repetitive, reinforcing the themes of the track and ultimately giving way to the stunning and serene saxophone performed by Big Scary regular Gus Rigby.”

Animal is set to drop Friday, 2nd September and the tracklist reveals that it will be a four-part experience drawing inspiration from the daily cycle of the animal kingdom – Hunting, Lurking, Resting and finally Waking. Over Mind finds itself in the latter.

Watch the track’s lyric video and see the album artwork and tracklist below.

WATCH: Big Scary – Over Matter lyric video

Animal tracklisting:


1. Oxygen

2. Organism

3. Double Darkness

4. Savior Add Vice


5. Lone Bird

6. The Endless Story

7. Flutism

8. Up and Up and Up


9. Breathe Under Water

10. The Opposite of Us

11. Heaven on Earth


12. Over Matter

13. Lamina


Latest on Music Feeds

Load more