Bob Dylan Announces Frank Sinatra Covers Album

Bob Dylan has announced the details of Shadows in the Night, a new studio album that will feature re-interpretations of Frank Sinatra tracks. The collection of ten songs will be released in February 2015 and marks the first new music from Dylan in three years.

“It was a real privilege to make this album,” Dylan said in a statement, via Rolling Stone. “I’ve wanted to do something like this for a long time but was never brave enough to approach 30-piece complicated arrangements and refine them down for a five-piece band. That’s the key to all these performances.”

Produced by Jack Frost, a long time pseudonym for Dylan, the album will feature popular Sinatra tracks like The Night We Called It a Day, Autumn Leaves and What’ll I Do that have been “uncovered” by Dylan and his band.

“I don’t see myself as covering these songs in any way,” he explains. “They’ve been covered enough. Buried, as a matter a fact. What me and my band are basically doing is uncovering them. Lifting them out of the grave and bringing them into the light of day.”

As pointed out by the A.V Club, Sinatra and Dylan have a storied history, with Dylan having written in his autobiography of his admiration for Sinatra’s Ebb Tide and having performed at the crooner’s 80th birthday bash.

Dylan says the album was recorded live in just one or two takes with, “No overdubbing. No vocal booths. No headphones. No separate tracking, and, for the most part, mixed as it was recorded.”

Listen to one of the album’s cuts, Full Moon and Empty Arms, released earlier this year, and see the full Shadows in the Night tracklist below.

Watch: Bob Dylan – “Full Moon and Empty Arms”

Shadows in the Night tracklist

1. I’m a Fool to Want You

2. The Night We Called It a Day

3. Stay With Me

4. Autumn Leaves

5. Why Try to Change Me Now

6. Some Enchanted Evening

7. Full Moon and Empty Arms

8. Where Are You?

9. What’ll I Do

10. That Lucky Old Sun

Must Read