Cancer Bats New Album ‘Dead Set On Living’ Details + Tracklisiting

Cancer Bats have revealed details of their upcoming fourth full-length album Dead Set On Living; they will release the new album on the 20th of April, 2012. Once again utilising the legendary Vespa Studios and producers Eric Ratz and Kenny Luong, Dead Set On Living brings yet another dimension to the Bats’ menacing style of thrash-tinged hardcore rock.

Vocalist Liam Cormier speaks about the new album:

“We really strove for that raw, off-the-floor vibe this time around … It’s really the bridge between our live show and what we put on record.”

Guest vocals on this album include Rob Urbinati of Sacrifice, DevilDriver’s Dez Fafara and An Horse’s Kate Cooper.

Thematically, the album has been described as a strong focus on the bilateral relationship of dark and light, destruction and construction, life and death. The title track, for example, refers to a close friend of the band who ended up in the hospital in serious condition, only to have the experience cement his will to survive. While the track Road Sick, as the title may imply, finds Cormier struggling with the hardships that come with a career spent on the road.

“Our lives are all about touring, but that song is more universal,” Cormier reveals. “It’s really for anyone away from their loved ones, dealing with that situation.”

Since first turning heads with 2006’s Birthing The Giant, Cancer Bats are one of the hardest working bands in the music industry. The band spent close to 300 days away from home in 2011 and will likely come close to that in 2012.

Dead Set on Living Track Listing


Bricks and Mortar

Road Sick

Breathe Armageddon

Dead Set On Living

The Void

Old Blood

Drunken Physics


Rally The Wicked

New World Alliance

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more