City And Colour Drops New Album Details & Epic Opening Track ‘Woman’

Not only is City and Colour releasing a brand new album this year, the Canadian singer-songwriter has just unfurled song one from the official track list, a nine-minute epic dubbed Woman.

The new disc, entitled If I Should Go Before You, is the follow-up to 2013’s The Hurry and The Harm and represents the artist otherwise known as Dallas Green’s first new material since his random folk acoustic collaboration with popstar P!nk last year.

“Over the last two years I’ve had the great pleasure of touring with an unbelievable group of musicians, who I can now safely call some of my best friends,” Green said in a statement. “If I Should Go Before You is the record I made with those friends.”

The disc was recorded at the iconic Blackbird Studios in Nashville, Tennessee. Not one to be roped in to the streaming wars, Green has promised to release it across all platforms, and doesn’t even care if you download it illegally (don’t be that guy though).

“It’s not ‘exclusive’ to anyone – Not to Tidal or Apple Music or Spotify or Rdio or anywhere in particular – but you can find it in all those places,” he continued. “It’s a collection of 11 songs – the thoughts I had on my mind: a last ditch effort to find something better and leave well enough alone. You can steal it, stream it or even buy it! Just try to enjoy it. I know I do.”

If I Should Go Before You will be released worldwide on Friday, 9th October, with all kinds of pre-orders available from July 24th.

City and Colour was last in Australia for Splendour In The Grass 2014, but fans won’t have to wait long to see him in action again. He’s just been announced on the monster bill for next year’s Bluesfest.

Check out the full lineup here, and have a listen to City and Colour’s brand spanker, Woman, below.

Watch: City and Colour – Woman [Official Lyric Video]

Gallery: City and Colour @ Splendour In The Grass 2014, Byron Bay / Photos by Ashley Mar

If I Should Go Before You Official Tracklist:

01. Woman

02. Northern Blues

03. Mizzy C

04. If I Should Go Before You

05. Killing Time

06. Wasted Love

07. Runaway

08. Lover Come Back

09. Map Of The World

10. Friends

11. Blood

Over the last two years I've had the great pleasure of touring with an unbelievable group of musicians, who I can now…

Posted by City and Colour on Monday, July 20, 2015

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more