Cut Copy To ‘Free Your Mind’ With New Album Set For November Release

Homegrown bedroom producers turn international headlining act Cut Copy have checked in to firm up the details of their fourth studio album Free Your Mind. We can now lock in a November release date for the LP as well as a rough idea of what the album is all about, with the title track now freely streaming online.

Recorded in Melbourne with Cut Copy mainman Dan Whitford at the helm in the control room, before setting up base camp in upstate New York with studio dweller Dave Fridmann (Tame Impala, MGMT, The Flaming Lips), all efforts have been made to insure Free Your Mind is every bit the follow up to the ARIA-award winning Zonoscope that fans were fiending.

Inspired by the existential movement experienced by the youths exposed to the 10 years of Thatcher and the Vietnam war, Free Your Mind embraces the spirit of youth culture, communal elation and celebration while imagining what the next wave of youth awakening will look sound like.

Says Whitford, “The concept of freedom is one that’s universally positive and timeless, and whatever each person’s version of that freedom is, it’s a good thing to be reminding ourselves to be free.”

It’s been an interesting promo campaign for the album so far. Free Your Mind the single was premiered via an extremely exclusive online stream last weekend, with the track only accessible to fans who made their way to one of just six mostly remote locations around the world.

The first track from the album Let Me Show You was initially released via a limited edition vinyl which was printed and made available to a select few during Cut Copy’s time at Pitchfork Music Festival.

Free Your Mind the album will be released Friday, 1st November. Check out the latest single and tracklist below.

Listen: Cut Copy – Free Your Mind

Free Your Mind Tracklisting:

1. (Intro)

2. Free Your Mind

3. We Are Explorers

4. Let Me Show You Love

5. (into the desert)

6. Footsteps

7. In Memory Capsule

8. (above the city)

9. Dark Corners & Mountain Tops

10. Meet Me In A House Of Love

11. Take Me Higher

12. (the waves)

13. Walking in the Sky

14. Mantra

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more