Damon Albarn Announces Opera ‘Dr Dee’ Tracklisting

Damon Albarn’s latest cultural expedition is once again in the form of a musical opera. His first opera took shape in the story of Monkey: Journey To The West and was critically acclaimed and loved by everyone, and come May 7, he is back with his second opera instalment; Dr Dee.

Dr Dee is inspired by John Dee, who was mathematical polymath and advisor to Elizabeth I, and consists of “strange pastoral folk”. Speaking out about the musical, Albarn said that “I’m really looking forward to the festival; Wiltshire in spring feels like a perfect setting for Dr Dee songs. Some of my favourite musicians are playing with me, it will be special.” He will perform the opera with all recording artists at OneFest on April 14, following the premiere of the production at the Manchester International Festival last summer.

Albarn recently played the famous Brit Awards with reunited band Blur, and have announced plans to unveil a new song

Dr Dee Tracklisting

‘The Golden Dawn

‘Apple Carts’

‘Oh Spirit Animate Us’

‘The Moon Exalted’

‘A Man of England’



‘The Marvelous Dream’

‘A Prayer’

‘Edward Kelley’


‘9 Point Star’

‘Temptation Comes In The Afternoon’

‘Watching the Fire That Waltzed Away’

‘Moon (Interlude)’


‘Tree Of Life’

‘The Dancing King’

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more