Image: Amazon Music

Eric Wareheim To Play James Murphy In LCD Soundsystem Xmas Special

LCD Soundsystem have announced The LCD Soundsystem Holiday Special, featuring guest stars Eric Wareheim, Macaulay Culkin, Aparna Nancherla, Jon Daly, Christine Ko and others. Wareheim directed the special.

The famous faces will play the LCD band members in All My Friends, a ’90s-style sitcom that opens the special. Wareheim plays LCD leader James Murphy; Ko plays keyboardist Nancy Whang; Daly plays bass player Tyler Pope; Cory Loykasek plays guitarist Al Doyle; Rex Lee plays manager Brian Graf; and Culkin plays drummer Pat Mahoney.

“I’ve already conquered film, James has conquered music, but we have yet to conquer the sitcom—the HIGHEST form of art,” said Wareheim in a statement. “For this show we’re unveiling a uniquely emotional perspective of the sitcom universe for the holidays – provided by one of the greatest bands of all time and my dear friends, LCD Soundsystem.”

Following All My Friends, the real members of LCD Soundsystem will gather to perform a full live-set, including their 2015 comeback single, ‘Christmas Will Break Your Heart’, which has never been played live.

The LCD Soundsystem Holiday Special will air on Amazon Music’s Twitch channel and Prime Video from Wednesday, 22nd December in the US. Australian release details are TBC.

Watch All My Friends’ appropriately cheeseball title sequence – complete with muzak-y theme tune – below.

Must Read