Foals Unleash Riff-Heavy Belter Of A New Song ‘Black Bull’

Earlier this year Foals announced they’d be releasing two new albums this year. Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost — Part 1 knocked our socks off back in March and now we have the first taste off of Part 2.

The first single off of Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost — Part 2 is ‘Black Bull’, a crashing belter of a song that fully showcases the band’s rock muscles. The track’s accompanying entrancing video, is also out today.

In an interview earlier this year, Foals told us that after their four year break between albums they’d found themselves with 20 tracks and they couldn’t narrow it down to just 12.

“I think we also felt that in the past, as we only tend to make a record every three or four years, like ‘Great! We get to put more tracks out, the fans get to hear more music and we get to play more songs live’,” said Jack Bevan.

Foals frontman Yannis Philippakis has said of the double-release, “[The albums are] two halves of the same locket. They can be listened to and appreciated individually, but fundamentally, they are companion pieces.”

Philippakis recently told NME, “Part 2 is a heavier listen; the guitars are more emphasised, and there’s some big riffs on it.”

“It’s a rock record and it definitely carries on the narrative from Part 1. Part 1 ended with a lot of fire and destructive imagery; Part 2 is trying to respond to that: How you can continue in the wreckage and through the scorched earth?”

Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost – Part 2 is set for release Friday, 18th October via Warner Music.

Watch the video for ‘Black Bull’ and check out Part 2’s tracklisting below.

Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost – Part 2 Tracklisting

01 Red Desert

02 The Runner

03 Wash Off

04 Black Bull

05 Like Lightning

06 Dreaming Of

07 Ikaria

08 10,000 Feet

09 Into the Surf

10 Neptune

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more