Hear In Hearts Wake’s Crushingly Epic Cover Of Silverchair’s ‘Freak’

The UNFD label crew’s full Silverchair tribute album Spawn (Again) has officially dropped, and with it a whooooole bunch of weird and wonderful ‘Chair covers from some of the country’s top riff punchers.

One of the clear standouts is In Hearts Wake‘s rendition of the 1997 Freak Show hit ‘Freak’, which the Byron lads have really made their own with one of the most dramatic departures from the OG on the LP.

Daniel Johns & co’s grungy outcast hymn has been given a crushing metalcore makeover by IHW, which fans should particularly dig because it sees vocalist Jake Taylor returning to his more vintage style of screaming.

Other standouts from the freshly spawned Spawn (Again) include Void Of Vision’s fun dance-metal take on Israel’s Son, The Brave’s epic Cemetery cover and Storm The Sky’s soaring rendition of Emotion Sickness, after covers by Northlane, The Amity Affliction, Tonight Alive and Hands Like Houses previously dropped like breadcrumbs in the lead-up to the disc’s arrival.

It also comes after Silverchair frontman Daniel Johns confessed that he didn’t know quite what to think of the whole project but still appreciates the gesture.

Give some of the album’s highlights — including IHW’s ‘Freak’ — a spin below or stream the whole thing right here.

‘Spawn (Again): A Tribute To Silverchair’ Tracklist

1. The Amity Affliction – Tomorrow
2. Void of Vision – Israel’s Son
3. In Hearts Wake – Freak
4. The Brave – Cemetery
5. Northlane – Anthem For The Year 2000
6. Hands Like Houses – Ana’s Song (Open Fire)
7. Ocean Grove – Spawn (Again)
8. Storm The Sky – Emotion Sickness
9. Tonight Alive – Without You
10. Columbus – Straight Lines

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more