Hear Raury’s Tom Morello Collab ‘Friends’ Off His Forthcoming Debut Album

Raury has teamed up with guitar wizard Tom Morello for a new song dubbed Friends, which features on his forthcoming debut album, All We Need.

The super-chill, down-tempo track features dreamy, washed-out vocals, a driving arena drum beat and some trademark new wave licks from the Rage Against The Machine/Audioslave axeman, resulting in something that sounds like nothing that either artist has ever recorded before.

“There was a connection between me and Tom… He’s a fan of the work I’ve previously done,” Raury revealed in an interview with BBC Radio 1, which premiered the song overnight. “I used to play [as] him on Guitar Hero!”

During the BBC chat, the alt-everything artist also drew comparisons between the way that RATM revolutionised rock n’ roll in the early nineties, and what artists like himself and Joey Badass are doing for hip-hop today.

Friends is the closing tune on Raury’s 14-track debut LP, which is due out on 16th October.

The disc also contains a few other feat.s from the likes of Wu-Tang clansmen RZA and Mississippi rapper Big K.R.I.T., as well as production courtesy of big shots Danger Mouse, Jacknife Lee, Malay, and Raury himself.

Check out the official cover art and track listing for Raury’s new disc, which may just be best album of the year, below.

You can also stream his Tom Morello collab Friends and subsequent BBC Radio 1 interview in the audio player if you feel that way inclined.

Raury last visited us here in Australia earlier this year for Laneway 2015.

Listen: Raury – Friends Feat. Tom Morello

All We Need Official Cover Art:


All We Need Official Tracklisting:

1. All We Need

2. Revolution

3. Forbidden Knowledge (ft. Big K.R.I.T.)

4. Woodcrest Manor II

5. Cpu” (ft. RZA)

6. Devil’s Whisper

7. Peace Prevail

8. Crystal Express

9. Love is Not a Four Letter Word

10. Her

11. Trap Tears” (ft. Key!)

12. Mama

13. Kingdom Come

14. Friends (ft. Tom Morello)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more