Iggy Pop Announces ‘Apres’ New Album Of English/French Covers

Iggy Pop will release a new covers album titled Apres, which will feature covers from a mixture of both English-speaking artists (including Frank Sinatra, The Beatles, and Yoko Ono) and French-speaking artists (including Edith Piaf and Serge Gainsbourg).

On his 2009 solo album, Preliminaires, Pop took a new direction from the classic guitar-driven Stooges style of music we’ve known him for, and saw him unleash his inner crooner to cover originals in both French and English. This new 10-track album sees him explore this further.

Apres will be out early May, and features known English songs like Michelle by The Beatles, I’m Going Away Smiling by Yoko Ono and Only The Lonely by Frank Sinatra.

Iggy took to his Facebook to talk about French influence on the album:

“I wanted to sing some of these songs myself, hoping to bring the feeling I felt as a listener to my listeners through my voice. Many of these songs are in French, probably because it is French culture which has most stubbornly resisted the mortal attacks of the Anglo-American music machine.”

Iggy Pop Apres Tracklisting

1. Et Si Tu N’existais Pas

2. La Javanaise

3. Everybody’s Talkin’

4. I’m Going Away Smiling

5. La Vie En Rose

6. Les Passantes

7. Syracuse

8. What Is This Thing Called Love?

9. Michelle

10. Only The Lonely

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more