James Vincent McMorrow Announces New Album ‘We Move’, Shares New Single ‘Rising Water’

Irish singer-songwriter James Vincent McMorrow has announced his third studio album We Move, and has also shared the album’s groovin’ first single Rising Water.

Produced by Drake’s producer mate Nineteen85, Rising Water (below) sees McMorrow combine funky synths with his icy vocals, some piano and a danceable backbeat. Basically, it sees him striving to hit some long-held musical goals.

“I grew up wanting to write songs like Neil Young but produce them like The Neptunes,” McMorrow says.

We Move, which is set for release on 2nd September, was written and recorded between Toronto, Dublin and London, and is shaping up to be McMorrow’s most ambitious project to date. The album has some big shoes to fill after the success of 2014’s Post Tropical, which the muso toured around Australia in the same year.

McMorrow says We Move is a portrait of anxiety and social unease. He says it’s not about “people listening to my songs and believing that I’m out in the forest all day long, thinking about trees. Because I’m actually at home, trying to convince myself to go out and get milk”.

Aside from the Nineteen85, the album also features the work of Two Inch Punch (Sam Smith, Years & Years) and Frank Dukes (Kanye West, Rihanna), with mixing by Jimmy Douglass (Jay Z, Timbaland, Justin Timberlake).

Catch Rising Water below, alongside the full We Move tracklist. 

Watch: James Vincent McMorrow – Rising Water (Lyric Video)

James Vincent McMorrow ‘We Move’ Tracklist

1. Rising Water

2. I Lie Awake Every Night

3. Last Story

4. One Thousand Times

5. Evil

6. Get Low

7. Killer Whales

8. Seek Another

9. Surreal

10. Lost Angels

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more