Photo: Supplied

Killswitch Engage Announce Eighth Record, ‘Atonement’ & Share New Single

American metalcore crew Killswitch Engage have today announced their eighth studio record, Atonement. The record is set to be out on Friday, August 16 via Sony Music Entertainment.

Atonement began to come together as early as 2017. The majority of the material was recorded separately on both coasts of the USA.

During this process, vocalist Jesse Leach developed a polyp, creating scar tissue in his throat which forced him to undergo surgery. There was an intense three-month recovery period, followed by speech, vocal and scream therapy to get him back to where he was prior to the surgery.

The announcement of the record also comes with the first taste of the record in ‘Unleashed’.

“‘Unleashed’ is about inner passion and rage coming up to the surface,” said singer Jesse Leach. “We all have that wild within that often stays dormant until a tragic event triggers and awakens it. This song is about that awakening within. I feel we were able to capture something raw and intense on this song and I’m stoked for everyone to hear it!”

Of the record, Leach said “The new album Atonement is a reflection of perseverance and passion through the trials and suffering of our existence.”

Killswitch Engage last toured Australia in 2018, supporting Parkway Drive around the country on their monstrous seven-date tour. They also played two of their own headline shows while in the country.

Atonement will be out Friday, August 16. Check out the rest of the album details below.


01. Unleashed

02. The Signal Fire [Featuring Howard Jones]

03. Us Against the World

04. The Crownless King [Featuring Chuck Billy]

05. I Am Broken Too

06. As Sure As the Sun Will Rise

07. Know Your Enemy

08. Take Control

09. Ravenous

10. I Can’t Be the Only One

11. Bite the Hand That Feeds

Must Read