News

Meg Mac Announces Debut Album Release Date, Chucks In A Tour For Good Measure

The Mac Attack is back, Jack! Meg Mac has unveiled the official release date for her long-awaited debut album, Low Blows.

It’s due to reach our eardrums on Friday, 14th July and to toast the big milestone, she’s also teed up a bunch of tour dates to boot.

Ms Mac will be playing a pair of dates in Sydney and Melbourne this September, following up her previously announced gig at Splendour In The Grass.

“I played a lot of piano on the album,” she tells triple J of the new disc. “Overall I wanted it to really feel like I was just singing in the room to you. So a lot of the vocal performances are live and unedited, it is hard to leave mistakes on a record but I think it was important to do that.”

The LP was tracked in Fort Worth, Texas before heading to New York City for mixing, before two final songs were added to the sessions in Melbourne, recorded with members of The Panics with drummer Myles Wootton producing.

“I had one more song I wanted to put on the album and I had this whole new idea for a song I’d previously recorded in the Fort Worth. The very last thing I did on the album was the vocal on ‘Brooklyn Apartment’ in Myles’ bedroom in Fitzroy,” Mac says.

Today’s big announcement comes hot on the heels of the release of the disc’s title track ‘Low Blows’, which you can reacquaint yourself with below alongside the official album artwork, tracklist and tour dates.

UPDATE 10/05/17: Meg Mac has added a new Melbourne show to her album tour after the first one sold out. Details below.

UPDATE: Meg Mac has now announced a full-blown Australian tour to go along with her previously announced Sydney and Melbourne shows. Details below.

Meg Mac 2017 National ‘Low Blows’ Tour

Wednesday, 6th September

Karova Lounge, Ballarat

Tickets: Official Website

Thursday, 7th September

Wool Exchange, Geelong

Tickets: Official Website

Friday, 8th September — SOLD OUT

The Forum, Melbourne

Tickets: Official Website

Saturday, 9th September

The Forum, Melbourne

Tickets: Official Website

Sunday, 10th September

The Capital, Bendigo

Tickets: Official Website

Thursday, 14th September

HQ, Adelaide

Tickets: Official Website

Friday, 15th September

Club 54, Launceston

Tickets: Official Website

Saturday, 16th September

The Waratah, Hobart

Tickets: Official Website

Wednesday, 20th September

Entrance Leagues, Central Coast

Tickets: Official Website

Thursday, 21st September

Uni Bar, Wollongong

Tickets: Official Website

Friday, 22nd September — SOLD OUT

The Enmore Theatre, Sydney

Tickets: Official Website

Saturday, 23rd September

Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle

Tickets: Official Website

Thursday, 28th September

Coffs Ex Services, Coffs Harbour

Tickets: Official Website

Saturday, 30th September

Blank Space, Toowoomba

Tickets: Official Website

Friday, 6th October

Rosemount Hotel, Perth

Tickets: Official Website

Thursday, 12th October

Miami Marketta, Miami

Tickets: Official Website

Friday, 13th October

The Tivoli, Brisbane

Tickets: Official Website

Saturday, 14th October

Tanks Art Centre, Cairns

Tickets: Official Website

Also performing at Splendour In The Grass 2017

meg mac artwork

‘Low Blows’ Tracklisting

01. Grace Gold

02. Low Blows

03. Kindness

04. Cages

05. I Didn’t Wanna Get So Low But I Had To

06. Ride It

07. Maybe It’s My First Time

08. Shiny Bright

09. Brooklyn Apartment

10. Morning

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more