Melvins Recruit Krist Novoselic For New Album After Getting Royally Dissed By Dave Grohl

So Melvins are a wee bit pissed at Dave Grohl.

The sludge pioneers apparently tried to enlist the Foo Fighters frontman for their new album, Basses Loaded, but say he totally blew them off.

So they went with his former Nirvana bandmate Krist Novoselic instead.

Speaking to Rolling Stone about how it all went down, frontman Buzz Osborne said the worst part was the whole collab was Grohl’s idea in the first place.

“It was before where [the surviving members of Nirvana] played with Paul McCartney,” he explained. “Dave Grohl had said that he wanted to do all that stuff with us. He wanted to do Nirvana songs with the Melvins, and maybe have David Yow singing.

“So Krist Novoselic came down and we started rehearsing, and Dave was supposed to show up — and he just never showed up. Blew it off, totally. And it was his idea!”

“I didn’t appreciate that, you know?” he continued. “I’m a lot of things, but one thing I’m not doing is sitting next to the phone in curlers, waiting for Dave Grohl to call me, you know? When he totally blows you off like that, it’s fucked. But whatever. There’s nothing I can do about that. So we did some recording with Krist while he was here.”

Continuing to vent his frustrations, Osbourne also added: “I don’t do that to people, you know? Generally when I come up with an idea for something and it’s my idea, and people fly down there on their own dime, which is what Krist did, and then you leave him hanging. That’s not something I’m known for. But Dave, he’s busy playing songs at the Oscars and shit.

Novoselic is one of six – count ’em SIX – different bassists to perform on the Melvins’ new LP, including Butthole Surfers’ JD Pinkus, Big Business’ Jared Warren, Mr. Bungle’s Trevor Dunn, Redd Kross’ Steve McDonald and of course resident Melvins beatman Dale Crover, who performs on four tracks including a random cover of American baseball anthem Take Me Out to the Ball Game.

The Nirvana bassman features on track 10 of the 12-track disc, on a song dubbed Maybe I Am Amused.

Basses Loaded is due out on June 3rd, and you can catch its debut track Hideous Woman alongside its official cover art and track listing, below.

Listen: Melvins – Hideous Woman

Basses Loaded – Track Listing 

01 The Decay of Lying [ft. Redd Kross’ Steve McDonald]

02 Choco Plumbing [ft. Big Business’ Jared Warren]

03 Beer Hippie [ft. Dale Crover]

04 I Want To Tell You [ft. Steve McDonald]

05 Captain Come Down [ft. Butthole Surfers’ JD Pinkus]

06 Hideous Woman [feat. Steve McDonald]

07 Shaving Cream [ft. Dale Crover]

08 Planet Distructo [ft. Mr. Bungle’s Trevor Dunn]

09 War Pussy [ft. Steve McDonald]

10 Maybe I Am Amused [ft. Krist Novoselic]

11 Phyllis Dillard [ft. Dale Crover]

12 Take Me Out To The Ballgame [ft. Dale Crover]


Latest on Music Feeds

Load more