Muse Announce New Album & Share Video For New Single ‘Compliance’

Muse will release their ninth studio album, Will of the People, on Friday, 26th August. It’s the UK band’s first since their 2018 LP, Simulation Theory.

The album’s latest single is ‘Compliance‘, which arrives with a Looper-inspired music video. Watch it below. ‘Compliance’ was directed by by Jeremi Durand and shot in Poland. ‘Compliance’ follows January’s ‘Won’t Stand Down‘.

Will of the People was created in Los Angeles and London and “is influenced by the increasing uncertainty and instability in the world,” said singer, Matt Bellamy, in a statement. “A pandemic, new wars in Europe, massive protests & riots, an attempted insurrection, Western democracy wavering, rising authoritarianism, wildfires and natural disasters and the destabilization of the global order all informed Will of the People.”

Such dystopian themes are right in Muse’s wheelhouse – the band’s discography already includes albums titled AbsolutionThe Resistance and Black Holes and Revelations, as well as songs such as ‘Citizen Erased’, ‘The Dark Side’, ‘Thought Contagion’ and ‘Supremacy’.

Nevertheless, Bellamy called it “a worrying and scary time” as the “Western empire and the natural world, which have cradled us for so long, are genuinely threatened. This album is a personal navigation through those fears and preparation for what comes next.”

Muse – Will of the People

  1. Will of the People
  2. Compliance
  3. Liberation
  4. Won’t Stand Down
  5. Ghosts (How Can I Move On)
  6. You Make Me Feel Like It’s Halloween
  7. Kill or Be Killed
  8. Verona
  9. Euphoria
  10. We Are Fucking Fucked

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more