The National Drop New Single ‘The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness’

Following the announcement of their new album Sleep Well Beast, The National have given us our first taste in the form of new single ‘The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness’.

The first track taken from the album has been unleashed alongside a glitchy music video that continues the blue theme which seems to be defining this era of The National.

It’s the first new music from the band since 2015’s ‘Sunshine On My Back’, while the album is their first full-length effort since 2013’s Trouble Will Find Me.

The album will be released on 8th September and features 12 new tracks. ‘The System Only Dreams In TotalDarkness’ sits at number four on the record, and it also features the track ‘Roman Candle’, which the band debuted live back in 2015. You can check out the full tracklist below.

The National have also just announced a ‘world tour’, but it is yet to include any Aussie dates. Let’s hope they don’t keep us waiting long.

The National – ‘Sleep Well Beast’ Tracklist

1. Nobody Else Will Be There

2. Day I Die

3. Walk It Back

4. The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness

5. Born to Beg

6. Turtleneck

7. Empire Line

8. I’ll Still Destroy You

9. Guilty Party

10. Carin at the Liquor Store

11. Dark Side of the Gym

12. Sleep Well Beast

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more