New Spank Rock album due in September

Sporting what may be the best title of any album so far this year, Naeem Juwan aka Spank Rock will be releasing his long awaited second full-length album EVERYTHING IS BORING & EVERYONE IS A F—-ING LIAR (along as some frustration it would seem) this September 30th on POD through Inertia. You can listen to teaser track Energy over at Inertia’s website.

Originally rising out of the sweat-drenched and dance floor-stewed Baltimore Bass movement, Juwan then teamed with the Diplo driven Hollertronix crew, with the rest of his story now confined to legend. The release of his 2006 debut, YoYoYoYoYo on Big Dada and Ninja Tune saw Spank Rock rise to prominence world wide, with Juwan and his production partner Alex XXXchange Epton and DJs Chris Devlin & Ronnie Darko being asked to tour with everyone from Beck to Bjork to The Beastie Boys, and securing themselves a place as a favourite on the Australian festival circuit.

On the new album though, Juwan has enlisted some pretty impressive talent with uber-producer Mark Ronson producing the (soon to be shown as prophetically titled) song #1 Hit, returning the favour Juwan payed him by featuring on Bike Song off Ronson’s latest effort Record Collection. Also along for the ride are German electro producer Boys Noize, XXXChange, Popo (Mad Decent), Leif (Das Racist), Chris Devlin, Tyler Pope (!!!) & Savage Skulls – the latter who were behind club smash Bad Gal with Robyn. Guest vocalists include Santigold (“Car Song”) and New Orleans Sissy Bounce star Big Freedia (“Nasty”).

EVERYTHING IS BORING & EVERYONE IS A F—-ING LIAR is out September 30 through Inertia.

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more