New Vetiver Album ‘The Errant Charm’ On The Way

Exciting news from San Francisco. Everyone’s favourite folk-pop singer-songwriter fellows Vetiver have a new album coming out in June.

Entitled The Errant Charm, the new album is set for release in the US on June 14 via Sub Pop. It is the band’s fifth album and follow up to 2009’s Tight Knit, the album that saw Andy Cabic and band head in a more classic, 60s pop direction after their early period had more or less defined the ‘freak folk’ sound.

Consequence of Sound reports that Cabic intended for the album to be ‘strolling’ music, as strolling is apparently what Cabic got up to in between sessions as the band recorded the album in San Francisco’s Richmond district.

Vetiver will be touring the US in the coming months, including an appearance at SXSW in Austin and the Pickathon Music Festival in Portland, Oregon. No European dates as yet, but Vetiver have a strong affinity with the UK’s small festival circuit so shows at Green Man and others may be likely. As for Australia, the only Vetiver we seem likely to get at the moment is the Indian grass Cabic named his band after, grown through permaculture nationwide, apparently.

The Errant Charm‘s tracklisting is:

01. It’s Beyond Me

02. Worse For Wear

03. Can’t You Tell

04. Hard To Break

05. Fog Emotion

06. Right Away

07. Wonder Why

08. Ride Ride Ride

09. Faint Praise

10. Soft Glass

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more