ZEAL & ARDOR | Image via Supplied

Zeal & Ardor Announce New Album ‘GRIEF’

Swiss musical powerhouse Zeal & Ardor has released their new single “Clawing out” and announced their new album ”GREIF’, set to be released on August 23.

The upcoming album GREIF, promises to be a rollercoaster ride of emotions and musical styles. Following the release of the gentle and harmonious track “to my ilk,” Zeal & Ardor flips the script with “Clawing out,” showcasing their versatility and boundary-pushing approach to music.

Zeal & Ardo lead member Manuel Gagneux said about their singles’. “We like to surprise people. So of course after releasing our softest song to date with “to my ilk” we want to create some whiplash with “Clawing out”! Not satisfied with a mere heavy riffed song, we elected to borrow some elements from other musical styles to further the impact. Revel with us in righteous violence – justificatum malum factum.”

ZEAL & ARDOR – ‘Clawing out’

Zeal & Ardo was recently honoured with the prestigious Swiss Music Prize, a testament to their outstanding contribution to the Swiss music scene. Manuel Gagneux expressed gratitude for the recognition.  “It’s rare that we get a prize that holds such esteem as this one does. Not just due to it being a national one, but because of the staggeringly talented alumni we have the privilege of calling our peers. It feels immensely validating and flattering. Sincerely: Thank you.”

“We’ve really evolved into a tight-knit unit,” explains Marc. “Before Zeal & Ardor, we were basically strangers, but we’re like a little family now. Each member brings his own unique flavor to the mix, and we all try to make Manuel’s songs better in our own way. The most interesting part for me was the new approach of how we work together in the studio.”

Manuel continues the statement.“I wanted to expand upon what we had and introduce new colors,. “There are angry and accusatory moments, but there’s also some solace and happiness. I’m widening the palette of colors we have to paint with. These are avenues we haven’t tried.”

They conclude their statements with the words of guitarist Tiziano Volante, “We invite listeners to hear the full spectrum of the different sides and sounds that make Zeal & Ardor, “There are some gorgeous moments, but it packs in a lot of intensity and charm. In Manuel’s songwriting and the process with every member, there’s a certain intentionality as well as an element of randomness and accident. I can’t wait to see people’s reactions.”

The album features a diverse range of tracks, each showcasing the band’s evolution and willingness to experiment. From the raw intensity of “Clawing out” to the introspective depths of “Solace,” GREIF promises to be a tour unlink any other album.

‘GRIEF’ Tracklisting:

01. the Bird, the Lion, and the Wildkin

02. Fend You Off

03. Kilonova

04. are you the only one now?

05. Go home my friend

06. Clawing out

07. Disease

08. 369

09. Thrill

10. une ville vide

11. Sugarcoat

12. Solace

13. Hide in Shade

14. to my ilk

You can pre-order the album here.

Further Reading

Sam Blacky Teams Up With Ninola On New Afro-House Single ‘Ronaldinho’

Winifred Drops New EP ‘Carpet of Flowers’ With Title Track And A Music Video

Crowded House Announce 2024 Australian Tour

Must Read