What So Not Announces Debut Album ‘Not All The Beautiful Things’, Drops New Single

Aussie producer What So Not (real name Chris Emerson) has announced his long-awaited debut album, while revealing a new track from the record.

Not All The Beautiful Things will be released on 9th March, and it features a huge array of guests, including Skrillex, Rome Fortune, San Holo and Silverchair’s Daniel Johns, who featured on Emerson’s last single ‘Be Ok Again’.

Surprisingly, it also features iconic American rock band Toto, whose hit song ‘Africa’ has been a staple of Emerson’s live sets for years.

The album has come together over a period of three years, and is a complete artistic statement with everything from the music videos to Emerson’s live stage being designed to fit together cohesively.

Not All The Beautiful Things is preceded by the new single ‘Stuck In Orbit’, which features vocals from Sydney musician BUOY.

The song was born during a jam session with Jono Ma from Jagwar Ma, and expanded into something else once BUOY was added to the mix.

“The vocals began as a sketch of adlibs from BUOY with only two words, drawn out across the verse ‘I ov-er comp-en-sate’,” says Emerson about the process.

“That set the tone for the entire piece; each word delivered with much thought and consideration.”

“I wrote the next phase of the lyrics whilst ‘stuck in transit’. I had just reached a point of feeling settled in a special place with amazing people around me when (as usual) I had to pack up my life and jump from city to city for months on end.

“Things came full circle as on this very trip I ended up crossing paths with Jono multiple times, jamming further on ideas for the song and when I finally returned, brainstormed the final elements of the vocal with Winona Oak and BUOY.”

Stream ‘Stuck In Orbit’ below, and pre-order Not All The Beautiful Things right here.

What So Not – ‘Not All The Beautiful Things’ Tracklist

1. What So Not & SLUMBERJACK – Warlord

2. What So Not – Be Ok Again (feat. Daniel Johns)

3. What So Not – Beautiful (feat. Winona Oak)

4. What So Not – Stuck In Orbit (feat. BUOY)

5. What So Not & James Earl – Demons (feat. Rome Fortune & Tommy Swisher)

6. What So Not & Skrillex – Goh (feat. KLP)

7. What So Not & Toto – We Keep On Running

8. What So Not & San Holo – If You Only Knew (feat. Daniel Johns)

9. What So Not – Monsters (feat. Michael Christmas & tobi lou)

10. What So Not & Dyro – Bottom End

11. What So Not – Same Mistakes (feat. Daniel Johns)

12. What So Not – Us (feat. Daniels)

What So Not – ‘Not All The Beautiful Things’ Cover Art

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more