RAAVE TAPES | Photo by Maya Luana/ via Supplied

RAAVE TAPES Announce Debut Album And Release New Single ‘I Just Wanna Be Alone’

Australian alt-pop sensation RAAVE TAPES has announced its highly anticipated self-titled debut album, set to be released on May 24th. The release coincides with the drop of the album’s third single ‘I Just Wanna Be Alone’ which showcases the band’s diverse range of sounds.

Building on the success of their second single ‘k hi’ released earlier this year. ‘I Just Wanna Be Alone’ reveals a new side of RAAVE TAPES, featuring slick production and Lindsay’s catchy vocals. The song explores new themes of individualism and solitary happiness, emphasizing the importance of self-acceptance and personal growth.

Directed by Maya Luana, the music video for ‘I Just Wanna Be Alone’, complements the song’s introspective mood, providing fans with a visually immersive experience. Produced, recorded and written by longtime collaborator Fletcher Matthews, the album marks a major milestone for RAAVE. BANDS as they step out. to a new stylistic direction. With little prejudice, the group began the writing process from a blank page.

RAAVE TAPES – ‘I Just Wanna Be Alone’

Singer Lindsay O’Connell shares her thoughts on the song’s inspiration, saying, “There’s not much that the title doesn’t address with ‘I Just Want to be Alone’. It’s a song born out of the cycle of mid-20s dating, figuring out how to spend time by yourself and most of all, being comfortable in your own skin. There is something quite special about a pop anthem you can sing in the mirror to reaffirm all of the self improvement beliefs, from ‘You never wrote back/I didn’t mind at all’ to ‘I don’t want to be something that I’m not’.”

Joab Eatley of RAAVE TAPES also shared the meaning behind the EP.  “We went into this album with a completely blank slate, and no preconceived notions of what it was going to sound like. We wanted to create a body of work that fully captured the new direction we’ve been edging toward for the last few years.”

He continued. We’ve been working with our producer Fletch for so long now that we didn’t really need to fully discuss the direction of the record or a game plan, we just went to work in the time we had. We had our workflow down and a shared vision – which made bouncing ideas around so much easier when you’re all pulling in the same direction from the get go. Like a well oiled machine, except the oil was caffeine and very very late nights.”

Awaiting the debut LP, fans can expect an immersive musical experience that reflects RAAVE. TAPES’ commitment to growth and experimentation. With their infectious energy and innovative sound, RAAVE TAPES is poised to make a lasting impression on the music scene with their upcoming release.

RAAVE TAPES Tracklisting:

  1. Braces
  2. I Just Wanna Be Alone
  3. k hi
  4. All Night (Regret)
  5. Goodbye
  6. Brakes Cut
  7. Enemies + Jealousy
  8. Sin Bin
  9. Heard It All, Big Man
  10. Patience
  11. 1000 People In The Room
  12. Wake Up Next To You

Pre-order the album here.

Further Reading

Douzey Releases New EP ‘Discard’

Korn Have Got A New Album In The Works

Atsuko Okatsuka Reschedules 2024 Australian Tour

Must Read