Powderfinger Celebrate 20 Years Of ‘Odyssey Number Five’ With A Deluxe LP, New Merch & A Bunch Of New Tracks

Australian royalty, Powderfinger are celebrating 20 years of their iconic release Odyssey Number Five next month. As part of that celebration, they’re re-releasing all the things.

First up, they’re re-releasing Odyssey Number Five. But, rather than the original 11-track album, it’s being expanded to 21 tracks, with a bunch of B-sides incoming.

We’ll be getting acoustic versions of ‘My Happiness’ and ‘Up & Down & Back Again’. Three B-sides: ‘Nature Boy’, ‘Fuzzy Wolf’, and a piano rendition of ‘Whatever Makes You Happy’.

Then we’ll get five covers, including Iron Maiden’s ‘The Number Of The Beast’, Psychedelic Furs’ ‘Love My Way’, and Joy Division’s ‘Transmission’.

The re-release of the album will come on a few different vinyls. Check out the pre-order options here.

On top of those, there’s new Powderfinger merch too.

Look at this ‘These Days’ crew neck — how good.

Designed by Rupert Gruber

“After the completion of this record, we made our most concerted attempts to crack the U.S. market, but then 9/11 happened and everything came to a grinding halt. We remained at home instead, presenting our record to an Australia which had inspired the many comments about the way the country was being led,” explain the band in a statement about the story behind the record.

“It seems that all these years later, not a whole lot has changed with our leaders and many of the observations still ring true. Particularly with the trilogy of disasters in 2020. These Days were definitely not planned to be like this.”

“We hope that you love this re-issue and the extra bits and pieces attached to it,” they add. “We thank you from the bottom of our little Brisbane hearts for coming along with us for the ride. We love youse all.”

Watch Powerfinger’s One Night Lonely performance of ‘These Days’ below.

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more