Powderfinger Are Releasing An Album Of Unreleased Songs This Year, New Single Incoming

Brisbane rock icons and Aussie royalty, Powderfinger are saving 2020. We’re set to be blessed with an album full of previously unreleased tracks. The best bit? There’s a single coming next month.

Revealing the news in an interview with Double J’s Caz Tran, Powderfinger guitarist Darren Middleton and drummer Jon Coghill said we’re getting a bunch of material that was initially shelved in the making of Odyssey Number Five.

“We were in putting together Odyssey Number Five 20th anniversary release and we went back and found like 50 songs that we had never released,” said Coghill.

“And we’ve got the 10 best, we think.

“There’s gonna be a new album this year at some stage. New songs. No one’s heard any of them. And it sounds pretty good to us. It’s been put together really well.”

The first single from the new release is called ‘Day By Day’ and it’ll be arriving Friday, 18th September.

ICYMI: Powderfinger are offering up a special re-release of Odyssey Number Five for its 20th birthday. They’re also hosting a trivia game this Thursday night.

“We trawled through our hard drives and went, ‘This is actually a pretty good bunch of songs here,'” said Darren Middleton.

“‘Maybe we should do more than just put them out as extras. Maybe we should do something with it. See if anyone’s interested in listening’.”

Middleton reckons we’ll be hearing songs that span 10 years.

“With songs that for one reason or another just didn’t make the cut at the time, or just didn’t suit the purposes of whatever we were doing,” he said.

Powderfinger put out their final album Golden Rule in 2009. It preceded their 2010 breakup, which saw their iconic (and mammoth) Sunsets Farewell Tour.

Have a listen to ‘My Happiness’ below.

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more