Run The Jewels Leak Their Own Album ‘RTJ2’

Hip hop duo Run The Jewels, made up of acclaimed emcees Killer Mike and El-P, are due to officially release their anticipated new album RTJ2 on October 27th, but overnight the duo took matters into their own hands and leaked the full album as a free download.

“Good morning. #RTJ2 drops RIGHT NOW!!!!,” tweeted EL-P overnight, including a direct link to the free download. Killer Mike followed suit, while the duo also sent out the link to fans via email writing, “Please enjoy the music. It was made for you.” According to reports, the surprise came after the album had already been leaked.

RTJ2 serves as the follow-up to the duo’s acclaimed 2013 RTJ mixtape. The new album is an 11-track effort that features collaborations with Rage Against the Machine’s Zack de la Rocha, Blink 182’s Travis Barker, Beyoncé collaborator Boots, and Foxygen drummer Diane Coffee.

Speaking with with XXL El-P described how he expects people to react when they hear the record for the first time. “They are going to jump out the window. They are going to run through the wall like the Juggernaut.”

“I think people are going to be amped off this music in a sense it’s the type of music that amps you up,” he added. “There’s some moments of beauty on here that I’m really excited about. Me and Mike came together did some shit on here that we haven’t done before.”

Run The Jewels will be in the country soon as part of the lineups for the upcoming Falls and Southbound festivals as well as their own sideshows, which they also leaked earlier this year. Are you sensing a pattern?

The duo’s other project, the star-studded, cat-sampled remix release Meow the Jewels, has now exceeded its $45,000 Kickstarter goal, having raised $63,267 with three days still left.

See the RTJ2 tracklist below and download the album for free here.

Watch: Run The Jewels – Oh My Darling Don’t Cry

RJT2 Tracklist

1. Jeopardy

2. Oh My Darling Don’t Cry

3. Blockbuster Night Part 1

4. Close Your Eyes (And Count to Fuck) (feat. Zack de la Rocha)

5. All My Life

6. Lie, Cheat, Steal

7. Early (feat. BOOTS)

8. All Due Respect (feat. Travis Barker)

9. Love Again (Akinyele Back)

10. Crown (feat. Diane Coffee)

11. Angel Duster

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more