Soundgarden, Whitney Houston Among This Year’s Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Nominees

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame have announced the list of nominees for the Rock Hall Class of 2020, with 16 artists shortlisted, nine of which for the first time.

Those scoring their first nomination include Pat Benatar, Dave Matthews Band, The Doobie Brothers, Motorhead, The Notorious B.I.G., Soundgarden, T. Rex, Thin Lizzy and Whitney Houston.

Meanwhile, Depeche Mode, Judas Priest, Kraftwerk, MC5, Nine Inch Nails, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan and Todd Rundgren are all returning nominees.

For Rock Hall eligibility, an artist’s first commercial recording must have been released 25 years prior to the induction year. As Billboard points out, should B.I.G. be inducted, he’ll become the second solo rapper to receive the honour after 2Pac’s induction in 2017.

Inductees are decided by an international body of over 1000 voting members, but you can impact the vote by going to Google and searching “Rock Hall Fan Vote” to cast a ballot with Google, or voting at

The ceremony will take place at the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s home town of Cleveland, Ohio in May 2020.

Must Read