St Vincent Drops ‘Birth In Reverse’ From Upcoming Self-Titled Record

Annie Clark, known to us as St. Vincent, has dropped the feature track Birth In Reverse from her self-titled fourth album due out on 21st February, 2014.

The track displays St Vincent’s distinctive, distorted electric guitars and ethereal vocals as she opens with the line “Oh what an ordinary day, Take out the garbage, masturbate.” Clark enlisted Dap-Kings drummer Homer Steinweiss and frequent collaborator McKenzie Smith of Midlake to share percussion duties, while she returned to producer John Congleton who she worked with on 2011’s Strange Mercury.

“I knew the groove needed to be paramount,” Clark says of the album, which she arranged and demoed extensively in Austin before heading into the studio in Dallas to record. “I wanted to make a party record you could play at a funeral.”

St. Vincent most recently collaborated with David Byrne in 2012 to record the album, Love This Giant, to much critical acclaim. The pair co-write ten of the album’s twelve tracks and each penned one song individually.

Digital pre-orders of the St Vincent album are available now at iTunes.

Listen: St Vincent – Birth In Reverse

St Vincent Tracklist

1. Rattlesnake

2. Birth In Reverse

3. Prince Johnny

4. Huey Newton

5. Digital Witness

6. I Prefer Your Love

7. Regret

8. Bring Me Your Loves

9. Psychopath

10. Every Tear Disappears

11. Severed Crossed Fingers

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more