Credit: Sean Eriksson

Sydney Fans Can Preview Avicii’s Posthumous Album Via An Interactive Installation This Weekend

Excitement for Avicii’s posthumous album TIM is growing as we get closer to its release date. Fans’ anticipation has only grown with the release of the lead singles too, ‘Tough Love’ and ‘SOS’.

It’s almost become too much to handle with the reveal of the tracklisting showing off names like Chris Martin (Coldplay), Imagine Dragons, and ARIZONA.

Avicii’s team have now announced that fans in select cities will be blessed with the opportunity to hear the album via the ‘Worldwide Cube Campaign’.

Six cities, including our very own Sydney, will receive full interactive cube installations and a further ten will receive smaller cubes.

Setting up in Sydney’s Martin Place, Avicii’s cube installations will be available to the public this Saturday 1st June and Sunday 2nd June.

The idea of the cubes is that they’ll be set up for fans to step inside. The interactive cubes will pair the first-time listener with another listener, who will be in a different country and likely on the other side of the world.

This means that while the release date for the anticipated project is officially Saturday, 8th of June, Avicii fans in Sydney get to hear some tunes up to a week early.

“Strangers online became friends because they found common ground in the spirit and melodies and rhythm of Avicii’s music,” reads a statement about the project. “The stories are endless.”

That’s where the cube idea was sparked. “When you step inside and put your hand on the illuminated screen, the Cube is activated and searches for another active Cube somewhere in the world.

“When that connection is made, both of you will listen to the same clip from the album. You’ll be sharing that listening experience with someone half way around the world, connected forever by Avicii’s music.”

Watch the making of Avicii’s cubes below.

’TIM’ Tracklisting

1. Avicii – ‘Peace Of Mind’ (feat. Vargas & Lagola)

2. Avicii – ‘Heaven’

3. Avicii – ‘SOS’ (feat. Aloe Blacc)

4. Avicii – ‘Tough Love’ (feat. Agnes, Vargas & Lagola)

5. Avicii – ‘Bad Reputation’ (feat. Joe Janiak)

6. Avicii – ‘Ain’t A Thing’ (feat. Bonn)

7. Avicii – ‘Hold The Line’ (feat. A R I Z O N A)

8. Avicii – ‘Freak’ (feat. Bonn)

9. Avicii – ‘Excuse Me Mr Sir’ (feat. Vargas & Lagola)

10. Avicii – ‘Heart Upon My Sleeve’ (feat. Imagine Dragons)

11. Avicii – ‘Never Leave Me’ (feat. Joe Janiak)

12. Avicii – ‘Fades Away’ (feat. Noonie Bao)

Must Read