Photo: Grant Spanier

The Avalanches Take Home $20K Australian Music Prize For ‘We Will Always Love You’

The 2020 Australian Music Prize winner is The Avalanches!

The group have taken home the prestigious $20 000 prize for their record, ‘We Will Always Love You’. They were announced as this year’s prize winners at a ceremony hosted this arvo by Jane Gazzo.

“We’re so thrilled to be the winners of the prestigious AMP Award and be amongst the esteemed winners of the past,” they said in a statement.

“We’d love to thank everyone involved in making this award happen especially SoundMerch, also to the many people who helped us put this record together. A truly special day for us and we’re so grateful.”

It’s a bit of a process to decide the winner of the AMP, with over 40 judges – all either artists, journalists and programmers – putting their heads together to make the decision.

The Avalanches had to beat out a solid run of 2020 records to take this one home – including Tame Impala’s, ‘The Slow Rush’, Ziggy Ramo’s ‘Black Thoughts’, Miiesha’s ‘Nyaaringu’ and Alice Ivy’s ‘Don’t Sleep’, among others.

Previous winners of the AMP include Sampa The Great, Gurrumul, A.B. Original and Courtney Barnett.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by The Avalanches (@theavalanches)

Must Read