News

The Smith Street Band Tell Tony Abbott To ‘Wipe That Shit-Eating Grin Off Your Punchable Face’

Melbourne rockers The Smith Street Band have shared a new politically scathing single, directed at the Australian government. The single, released digitally and on 7″ (pictured above), is titled Wipe That Shit-Eating Grin Off Your Punchable Face, and its artwork features a Shaun Thatcher painting of Prime Minister Tony Abbott.

According to the band, the song is about an issue they’re fiercely concerned with — “Our government’s dehumanising stance on refugees and the empty promises of our current government in general.” They add, “Hope you’re listening Tony Abbott.”

Were we supposed to feel hope, when you said you’d stop the boats?” sings Wil Wagner on the track. “‘Cos that’s some fucking evil shit, politicising killing kids.” Listen to the new track below.

A second new song God in the Name of the Father is featured on the flipside of the 7″. Both songs were recorded in Forrest, Victoria, during the Throw Me In The River recording sessions and will be available digitally from The Smith Street Band and Poison City bandcamp sites from 9am tomorrow.

The track’s release comes as the Melbourne act are due to take the stage at the Corner Hotel’s annual Australia Day fundraiser event. They will play alongside The Bennies, Joelistics and more to raise funds for The Asylum Seeker Resource Centre, The Refugee Council of Australia and Oxfam.

The band have announced that they and their label Poison City Records will donate all of the proceeds from the track’s digital sales until the end of February, and a large part of the 7” sales, to the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre – Australia’s leading support organisation for asylum seekers. All the profits from records sold at the Corner Hotel on Australia Day will also be donated.

Following their Australia Day show, The Smith Street Band will kick off their massive 26-date Get High, See Everyone Australian tour at the end of January. See those tour dates below.

Listen: Wipe That Shit-Eating Grin Off Your Punchable Face

The Smith Street Band – Get High, See Everyone Tour

With special guests PUP (Canada), Great Cynics (UK) & Apart From This

Saturday, 24th January 2015

Railway Hotel, Darwin (TSSB only)

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Wednesday, 28th January 2015

Musicman, Bendigo

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Thursday, 29th January 2015

Barwon Club, Geelong

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Friday, 30th January 2015

Karova Lounge, Ballarat

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Saturday, 31st January 2015 SOLD OUT

The Hi Fi, Melbourne

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Sunday, 1st February 2015

Northcote Social Club, Melbourne (Under 18s)

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Wednesday, 4th February 2015

Sol Bar, Maroochydore

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Thursday, 5th February 2015

Spotted Cow, Toowoomba

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Friday, 6th February 2015

The Hi Fi, Brisbane

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Saturday, 7th February 2015

Crowbar, Brisbane (Under 18s)

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Sunday, 8th February 2015

The Northern, Byron Bay

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Wednesday, 11th February 2015

Coffs Hotel, Coffs Harbour

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Thursday, 12th February 2015

Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Friday, 13th February 2015

Metro Theatre, Sydney

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Saturday, 14th February 2015

Factory Theatre, Sydney (All Ages)

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Sunday, 15th February 2015

Magpies, Canberra (All Ages)

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Tuesday, 17th February 2015

Mariners, Batemans Bay

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Wednesday, 18th February 2015

The Bridge Hotel, Castlemaine

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Friday, 20th February 2015

Party in the Paddock, Burns Creek, Tasmania

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Saturday, 21st February 2015

Railway Hotel, Fremantle

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Thursday, 26th February 2015

Prince of Wales, Bunbury

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Friday, 27th February 2015

Rosemount Hotel, Perth

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Saturday, 28th February 2015

The Gov, Adelaide

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Sunday, 1st March 2015

The Gov, Adelaide (All Ages)

Tickets: The Smith Street Band

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more