Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Yeah Yeah Yeahs | Image: Lorne Thomson/Redferns

Yeah Yeah Yeahs Release Long-Awaited Fifth Album ‘Cool It Down’

US indie rockers the Yeah Yeah Yeahs have released their long-awaited fifth LP, Cool It Down. It’s been nearly a decade between albums for the trio of Karen O, Nick Zinner and Brian Chase. Originally announced in June 2022, Cool It Down is the group’s first LP since 2013’s Mosquito.

Produced by TV On The Radio’s Dave Sitek, Cool It Down includes the singles ‘Burning’ and ‘Spitting Off the Edge of the World’.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – ‘Burning’

Yeah Yeah Yeahs announced a hiatus in 2014. All three band members remained creatively active during the break, but it wasn’t until 2017 that they announced their formal return as a three-piece.

“Music has been a lifeline for me and Nick and Brian over the last 21 years, as it is for so many people,” vocalist Karen O said recently. “It’s a safe haven for big emotions. So in 2021 when we could be together again, all the joy, the pain, and deepest gratitude for music came pouring out of our hearts song after song.”

“For a lot of the songs on this record, we’re giving voice to the feelings I want to hear reflected back to me in music,” O added. “It’s confrontational, and it’s emotional, and it’s addressing things that nobody wants to look at.”

Cool It Down has already received widespread critical acclaim. NME labelled the album a “triumphant, rewarding return” for the New York outfit, while Pitchfork claimed that it “ushers in a patient new era for the band”.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Cool It Down

  1. Spitting Off The Edge Of The World (feat. Perfume Genius)
  2. Lovebomb
  3. Wolf
  4. Fleez
  5. Burning
  6. Blacktop
  7. Different Today
  8. Mars

Further Reading

Hear Willie Nelson And Karen O’s Cover Of Queen And David Bowie’s ‘Under Pressure’

Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ Isolation Performance Of ‘Phenomena’ Kicks Ass

Love Letter To A Record: Pagan’s Nikki Brumen On Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ ‘Fever To Tell’

Must Read