Images: Pooneh Ghana/Supplied/David Black

APRA Reveals 2019 Song Of The Year Shortlist

APRA AMCOS has finally revealed the songs that have made the 2019 shortlist for ‘Song Of The Year’, and it is one of their most diverse shortlists yet.

Among the ranks are the likes of Dean Lewis, Amy Shark, The Living End, Ball Park Music, Ziggy Alberts, Courtney Barnett, Mojo Juju, Kaiit, Angie McMahon, Sarah Aarons, The Teskey Brothers, The Necks, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Ainslie Wills, Xavier Rudd, Baby Animals and 8Ball Aitken.

Also on the shortlist is A.B. Original, who took out the top prize in 2018 for ‘Songwriter of the Year’ at the APRA Music Awards. Baker Boy rounds out the list with his track ‘Marryuna’. This is just the latest high in Baker Boy’s already amazing 2019, as last month he took out the title of Young Australian of the Year.

Kate Miller-Heidke has been appointed the music director for the awards, and she’ll conduct the orchestra that’ll give some beautiful reinterpretations of songs nominated.

The 2019 APRA Music Awards will take place in Melbourne on Tuesday, 30th April.

Check out the full shortlist of songs below.

APRA 2019 Song Of The Year Shortlist

‘Be Alright” by Dean Lewis (writers: Dean Lewis / Jon Hume)

‘Blaccout”, A.B. Original (Adam Briggs / Daniel Rankine)

‘Body”, The Necks (Chris Abrahams / Tony Buck / Lloyd Swanton)

‘Don’t Lose It”, The Living End (Chris Cheney / Scott Owen / Andy Strachan / Tobias  Kuhn)

‘Exactly How You Are”, Ball Park Music (Sam Cromack)

‘Forever You And Me”, The Teskey Brothers (Joshua Teskey / Samuel Teskey / Liam Gough / Brendon Love)

‘Greenhouse Heat Death”, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard (Stuart Mackenzie)

‘High Water’, 8Ball Aitken (8Ball Aitken / Guthrie Kennard)

‘Home’, John Butler Trio (John Butler / Martin Brown / Thomas Crawford / Katy Steele)

‘I Said Hi’, Amy Shark (Amy Shark)

‘Love Me Now’, Ziggy Alberts (Ziggy Alberts)

‘Marryuna’, Baker Boy ft Yirrmal (Danzal Baker / Dion Brownfield / Jerome Farah / Yirrmal Marika)

‘Nameless Faceless’ by Courtney Barnett (Courtney Barnett)

‘Native Tongue’, Mojo Juju (Mojo Juju / Joel Ma / Rita Seumanuta)

OG Luv Kush Pt 2′, Kaiit (Kaiit Waup / Michael Chan / Anthony Douglas / Mohamed Komba / Jaydean Miranda / Damian Smith)

‘Slow Mover’, Angie McMahon (Angie McMahon)

‘Society’, Ainslie Wills (Ainslie Wills / Bram Inscore / Maureen McDonald)

‘The Middle’, Zedd, Maren Morris & Grey (Sarah Aarons / Jordan Johnson / Stefan Johnson/ Marcus Lomax / Kyle Trewartha / Michael Trewartha / Anton Zaslavski)

‘Tonight’, Baby Animals (Suze DeMarchi / Dave Leslie)

‘Walk Away’, Xavier Rudd (Xavier Rudd)

‘With The One I Love’, Paul Kelly (Paul Kelly)

Must Read