APRA’s Shortlist Of The Top Aussie Songs Of 2014 Is Here

The shortlist of 24 songs selected for a shot at APRA’s Song Of The Year Award has been unveiled, with golden boy Chet Faker leading the pack with three entries. AC/DC and Courtney Barnett have two songs apiece.

Faker picks up nods for his songs 1998, Gold and Talk Is Cheap. The Preatures, Hilltop Hoods, Sia, Augie March, The Peep Tempel and King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard are among the other nominees. The shortlist features 20 songs considered by APRA (Australian Performing Right Association) and artistic mechanical rights organisation AMCOS members to be the best song of 2014.

For the past month, APRA AMCOS members have been voting for their favourite song from 2015. The shortlist is the result of those votes, with five finalists due to be announced in the coming weeks. Voters have until 29th January to choose what song they believe should win the prize.

The APRA Song of the Year winner will be announced at the 2015 APRA Music Awards, which will take place on Tuesday, 24th March at Carriageworks in Sydney, after a brief stint in Brisbane last year. This year’s ceremony will be hosted by RocKwiz’s Brian Nankervis.

APRA AMCOS will announce the nominees for the 2015 APRA Music Awards, including the APRA Song of the Year finalists, in coming weeks.

The inclusion on the shortlist caps off a big few months of accolades for Chet Faker. Last year he was nominated for nine ARIA awards, winning five, and also took home the j Award for Album of the Year as chosen by triple j.

Vance Joy took out the award in 2014 for Riptide, beating out Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds and Boy & Bear, among others.

The top 24 contenders for APRA’s Song of the Year Award are:

1998 – Chet Faker

Written by Chet Faker

A Dog Starved – Augie March

Written by Glenn Richards

All Nations – Blue King Brown

Written by Natalie Pa’apa’a & Carlo Santone

Anonymous Club – Courtney Barnett

Written by Courtney Barnett

Bittersweet – Kasey Chambers & Bernard Fanning

Written by Kasey Chambers & Bernard Fanning

Carol – The Peep Tempel

Written by Steven Carter, Stewart Rayner & Blake Scott

Cellophane – King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard

Written by Stuart MacKenzie

Chandelier – Sia

Written by Sia and Jesse Shatkin (ASCAP)

Cosby Sweater – Hilltop Hoods

Written by Barry Francis, Matthew Lambert, Daniel Smith, Demitris Christopoulos (PRS) & John Kelman (PRS)

Geronimo – Sheppard

Written by Jason Bovino, Amy Sheppard & George Sheppard

Gold – Chet Faker

Written by Chet Faker

Heart Beats Slow – Angus & Julia Stone

Written by Angus & Julia Stone

High – Peking Duk feat. Nicole Millar

Written by Adam Hyde, Samuel Littlemore, Nicole Millar & Reuben Styles-Richards

Kimberley Calling – Dan Sultan

Written by Dan Sultan

Livin In The City – John Butler Trio

Written by John Butler

Pickles From The Jar – Courtney Barnett

Written by Courtney Barnett

Play Ball – AC/DC

Written by Angus Young and Malcolm Young

Rock Or Bust – AC/DC

Written by Angus Young and Malcolm Young

Saramona Said – Violent Soho

Written by Luke Boerdam, Luke Henery, Michael Richards & James Tidswell

Somebody’s Talking – The Preatures

Written by Isabella Manfredi, Jack Moffitt, Gideon Bensen, Thomas Champion and Luke Davison

Talk Is Cheap – Chet Faker

Written by Chet Faker

Van Diemens Land – Russell Morris

Written by Shannon Bourne & Russell Morris

When We’re Older – Mia Dyson

Written by Mia Dyson, Lee Pardini (ASCAP) & Erin Sidney (ASCAP)

You Ruin Me – The Veronicas

Written by Anthony Egizii, David Musumeci, Jessica Origliasso & Lisa Origliasso

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more