ARIA Awards 2013 Winners Rundown

The 2013 instalment of the ARIA Awards went off with a bang at the Event Centre at The Star in Sydney, seeing performances from major international and local artists, as well as bestowing awards upon some of the hottest acts in Australian music right now, including Flume and Tame Impala.

The 27th Australian Recording Industry Association Awards was a sold-out affair in a year that saw 13 Australian albums hit #1 in the charts, making it the most successful year for Australian releases in ARIA Charts history. The event recognised many of the year’s most successful acts.

The biggest award of the night, Album Of The Year, went to Perth’s Tame Impala for their album, Lonerism. The band also won Best Group and Best Rock Album. Breakthrough Artist went to man of the evening, Flume, who also won Best Male Artist and Best Dance Release.

Jessica Mauboy won the award for Best Female Artist, while Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds received the award for Best Independent Release, for their fifteenth studio album, Push The Sky Away, also netting the award for Best Adult Contemporary Album.

Guy Sebastian won the award Best Pop Release for Armageddon, Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album went to Karnivool for Asymmetry, Illy took home Best Urban Album for Bring it Back, while Best Country Album went to Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson for Wreck and Ruin.

Best Blues and Roots Album went to Russell Morris for his album, Sharkmouth, Justine Clarke took home Best Children’s Album for A Little Day Out with Justine, and Best Comedy Release went to Tom & Alex for The Bits We’re Least Ashamed Of.

“2013 has been a remarkable year for Australian music and that was certainly evident with the wealth of talent present in the room tonight,” said ARIA CEO Dan Rosen. “The collection of tonight’s winners and performers shows the amazing talent currently in the Australian music industry.”

“ARIA is proud to be able to present these artists to the Australian public and celebrate their achievements,” added Rosen. “ARIA congratulates all of tonight’s winners, in particular Tame Impala, Flume, Guy Sebastian and Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds who all won multiple ARIA Awards.”

In addition to the major category awards, famed Australian musical duo, Russell Hitchcock and Graham Russell, better known as Air Supply, were inducted into the ARIA Hall Of Fame, in honour of their four-decade career delivering some of the country’s most beloved ballads and love songs.

Check out the entire list of nominees and winners, below.

2013 ARIA Award Categories

Album of the Year

Birds Of Tokyo – March Fires
Flume – Flume
Guy Sebastian – Armageddon
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Push The Sky Away
Tame Impala – LonerismWINNER

Breakthrough Artist – Release
Presented by PPCA

Big Scary – Not Art
Flume – FlumeWINNER
RüFüS – Atlas
The Rubens – The Rubens
Vance Joy – God Loves You When You’re Dancing

Best Male Artist

Flume – FlumeWINNER
Guy Sebastian — Armageddon
Keith Urban — Little Bit Of Everything
Matt Corby – Resolution
Paul Kelly — Spring and Fall

Best Female Artist

Abbe May – Kiss My Apocalypse
Emma Louise – vs Head vs Heart
Jessica Mauboy — To The End Of The EarthWINNER
Missy Higgins – Set Me On Fire
Sarah Blasko – I Awake

Best Group

Boy & Bear – Harlequin Dream
Birds Of Tokyo – March Fires
Empire Of The Sun – Ice On The Dune
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Push The Sky Away
Tame Impala – LonerismWINNER

Best Independent Release

Big Scary — Not Art
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds — Push The Sky AwayWINNER
San Cisco — San Cisco
Sheppard — Let Me Down Easy
The Drones — I See Seaweed

Best Adult Contemporary Album

Bob Evans — Familiar Stranger
Clare Bowditch — The Winter I Chose Happiness
Josh Pyke — The Beginning And The End Of Everything
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds — Push The Sky AwayWINNER
Sarah Blasko — I Awake

Best Blues and Roots Album

Archie Roach — Into the Bloodstream
Mama Kin — The Magician’s Daughter
Melbourne Ska Orchestra — Melbourne Ska Orchestra
Russell Morris — SharkmouthWINNER
The Cat Empire — Steal The Light

Best Children’s Album

Giggle and Hoot — Claw Tapping Tunes
Jay Laga’aia — Ten In The Bed
Justine Clarke — A Little Day Out with JustineWINNER
Sam Moran — Play Along With Sam
The Wiggles — Taking Off!

Best Comedy Release

Housos — Live
Sammy J & Randy — Bin Night
Pauly Fenech — Pauly’s Shorts
Tom & Alex — The Bits We’re Least Ashamed OfWINNER
Various — Colin Buchanan’s TGIF Songs

Best Country Album

Jasmine Rae — If I Want To
Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson — Wreck and RuinWINNER
Lee Kernaghan — Beautiful Noise
Sara Storer — Lovegrass
Troy Cassar—Daley and Adam Harvey — The Great Country Songbook

Best Dance Release

Flume — FlumeWINNER
Jagwar Ma — Howlin
The Potbelleez — Saved In A Bottle
The Presets — Pacifica
RüFüS — Atlas

Best Pop Release

Empire Of The Sun — Ice On The Dune
Guy Sebastian — ArmageddonWINNER
San Cisco — San Cisco
The Preatures — Is This How You Feel
Vance Joy — God Loves You When You’re Dancing

Best Rock Album

Birds Of Tokyo — March Fires
Boy & Bear — Harlequin Dream
Tame Impala — LonerismWINNER
The Drones — I See Seaweed
The Rubens — The Rubens

Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album

Airbourne — Black Dog Barking
Karnivool — AsymmetryWINNER
Northlane — Singularity
The Amity Affliction — Chasing Ghosts
Thy Art Is Murder — Hate

Best Urban Album

Bliss n Eso — Circus In The Sky
Horrorshow — King Amongst Many
Illy — Bring it BackWINNER
Seth Sentry — This Was Tomorrow
Urthboy — Smokey’s Haunt


Song of the Year
Presented by the Today Network

Bombs Away (feat. The Twins) — Party Bass
Flume — Holdin On
Samantha Jade — What You’ve Done To Me
Birds Of Tokyo — Lanterns
Timomatic — Parachute
Vance Joy – Riptide
Justice Crew — Best Night
Stafford Brothers (feat Lil Wayne & Christina Milian) – Hello
Guy Sebastian — Get Along
Matt Corby – ResolutionWINNER

Best International Artist
Presented by NOVA

Of Monsters And Men — My Head Is An Animal
Taylor Swift – Red
Birdy – Birdy
Bruno Mars — Unorthodox Jukebox
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis — The Heist
Ed Sheeran — +
One Direction — Take Me HomeWINNER
Mumford & Sons – Babel
P!nk — The Truth About Love
Michael Bublé — Christmas

Best Australian Live Act
Presented by Qantas

Paul Kelly & Neil Finn — Australian Tour: Feb — Mar 2013
Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds — National Tour: Feb — Mar 2013
Keith Urban — The Story So Far Tour: Jan — Feb 2013
Tame Impala — Lonerism Tour: Apr — May 2013
Birds Of Tokyo — March Fires Tour: Feb — Mar 2013
The Drones — I See Seaweed Tour: Apr 2013
Flume — The Infinity Prism Tour: Apr — May 2013
Karnivool — Asymmetry Tour: Jun — Aug 2013
Guy Sebastian — Get Along Tour: Mar — Jun 2013WINNER
Matt Corby — Australian Tour: May — Jun 2013

Best Video
Presented by YouTube

Flight Facilities “Clair De Lune (feat. Christine Hoberg)” (Flight Facilities / Kobalt Label Services) — Dave Ma
Matt Corby “Resolution” (Mercury Australia) — Bryce Jepson
Vance Joy “Riptide” — Dimitri Basil
Justice Crew “Best Night” — Marc Furmie
San Cisco “Fred Astaire” (Island City Records/MGM) — Andrew Nowrojee
Birds Of Tokyo “Lanterns”— Josh Logue
Timomatic “Parachute” — Marc Furmie & Elisa Mercurio
Flume “Holdin On”— Joe Nappa
Samantha Jade “Firestarter” — Christopher FreyWINNER
Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds “Jubilee Street” (Bad Seed Ltd / Kobalt Label Services) — John Hillcoat

ARIAs Best Cover Art:

Dave Homer & Aaron Hayward of Debaser for Ice On The Dune – @EmpireOfTheSun

Engineer of the Year:

Virginia Read for All Imperfect Things: Solo Piano Music of Michael Nyman – @sallywhitwell

Producer of the Year:

Harley Streten for Flume

Best Classical Album:

Sally Whitwell – All Imperfect Things: Solo Piano Music of Michael Nyman

ARIAs Best Jazz Album: The Idea Of North – Smile

Best Original Soundtrack/Cast/Show Album:

Paul Kelly, James Ledger, Genevieve Lacey & ANAM Musicians – Conversations With Ghosts

Best World Music Album:

Joseph Tawadros – Chameleons of the White Shadow

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more