Image: Instagram

Brand New Have Surprise-Dropped Their First Album In 8 Years

Happy Friday, Brand New fans! The American rock legends have just ambushed us all by dropping their first album in eight years, Science Fiction, out of nowhere.

The band’s new and potentially final LP has materialised online after fans started receiving mysterious packages from their label, Procrastinate! Music Traitors.

Digital copies of the 12-tracker are officially available to snap up through the PMT website, and punters who order physically copies — including an option for vinyl that has an “indefinite pressing quantity” — will also score a download code in their email so they can enjoy the digital version of the LP right bloody now (CDs and vinyl aren’t expected to ship until October, FYI).

Brand New’s fifth album could well be their last — with the band previously selling merch containing the words ‘Brand New: 2000 — 2018’ in addition to saying they were “done” — but they’ve also recently announced new tour dates in the US and UK, suggesting that they could well be gearing up for another jaunt around the world behind their new music #AustraliaPlz.

Meanwhile, Brand New aren’t the only band to surprise-drop a brand new album today, with Melbourne’s own King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard doing the same for their new LP Sketches Of Brusnwick East.

Check out the official artwork and track-listing for Brand New’s brand new album Science Fiction below.

Science Fiction Artwork:

Science Fiction Tracklist:

01. Lit Me Up

02. Can’t Get It Out

03. Waste

04. Could Never Be Heaven

05. Same Logic/Teeth

06. 137

07. Out of Mana

08. In the Water

09. Desert

010. No Control

11. 451

12. Batter Up

Must Read