Finally, A New Album From Battles

New York ‘math rock’ superstars Battles have had a bit of a rough time of it since their debut album Mirrored, released some four years ago now. But finally they have announced details of their long-awaited follow-up.

According to Pitchfork, Gloss Drop will be released via Warp on June 7 in North America and one day earlier in the rest of the world.

Battles have had to contend with the departure of arguably their most recognisable member, Tyondai Braxton who left the band in August to concentrate on a solo career.That leaves Battles as a trio, so ignore the large-haired member in the photo.

Filling in on vocals on Gloss Drop are a few interesting sorts, such as Gary Numan, Yamantaka Eye of the Boredoms, Kazu Makino of Blonde Redhead and disco artist Matias Aguayo.

The new album’s tracklisting will be:

01 Africastle

02 Ice Cream [ft. Matias Aguayo]

03 Futura

04 Inchworm

05 Wall Street

06 My Machines [ft. Gary Numan]

07 Dominican Fade

08 Sweetie & Shag [ft. Kazu Makino]

09 Toddler

10 Rolls Bayce

11 White Electric

12 Sundome [ft. Yamantaka Eye]

Must Read