Gotye & Violent Femmes Lead MONA FOMA’s 2018 Lineup

Tasmania’s MONA FOMA (aka MOFO) festival has revealed a hugely diverse music lineup for its 2018 edition, with a killer program of solo shows, tributes and collaborations revealed today by organisers at Hobart’s the Museum Of Old & New Art.

Leading the way is somebody you used to know, Gotye, who’ll present the premiere of his tribute to the late French composer Jean-Jacques Perrey with a pre-synth show featuring the Ondioline Orchestra.

Another world premiere will come in the form of Violent Femmes‘ live collaboration with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, which will see their music reimagined in an orchestral performance.

Other feature acts include Canadian alt-rockers Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Brian Jackson and the Southern Gospel Choir, Moor Mother with fellow US artist Rasheedah Phillips and Iraqui musician Karim Wasfi.

MONA FOMA will of course feature art installations, dance performances and great food too, across 11 days of music and art in its Hobart and Launceston locations.

Organisers teased the lineup last month by parking a billboard outside Pauline Hanson’s headquarters suggesting that she buy a ticket, but we’re yet to hear if she’s accepted their invitation to the festival.

Check out the full music lineup alongside MONA FOMA dates and ticket details, below. The full festival program can be viewed at the MOFO website.

MONA FOMA 2018 Lineup

Brian Jackson with the Southern Gospel Choir (AUS/USA)
Emel Mathlouthi (TUN)
Genesis Breyer P-Orridge (UK/USA)
Godspeed You! Black Emperor (CAN)
Gotye Presents a Tribute to Jean-Jacques Perrey (AUS/USA)
Launceston Block Party
Mayhem (NOR)
Monumental – The Holy Body Tattoo (CAN) with live music by Godspeed You! Black Emperor (CAN)
Moor Mother featuring Rasheedah Phillips (USA)
Violent Femmes + the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra (USA/AUS)

Adam Simmons
Ajak Kwai
Alessandra Garosi (ITA)
Andrew Bainbridge
Austin Buckett and Martin Ng
Black Quantum Futurism Collective (USA)
Black Rock Band
Blaise Garza and John Sparrow (USA)
Breadwoman Variations (USA)
Chakam Ensemble (IRN/AUS)
David Jones
Edley ODowd
Eve Klein
Evil Goat
Faux Mo
Fémina (ARG)
Filastine and Nova (USA/IDN)
Gordon Gano (USA)
Hobart Liberation Orchestra featuring Petra Haden (AUS/USA)
Hobart + Music = Yeah: Re/cognition
Jamila Woods (USA)
Jim Denley and Rosalind Hall
Joseph Nolan and Brent Grapes
Kardajala Kirridarra
Martin Blackwell
Maxine Beneba Clarke
Michael Candy and Rosalind Hall
Michael Kieran Harvey, Arjun von Caemmerer and Brigita Ozolins
Military Position
Rahim AlHaj and Karim Wasfi (IRQ)
Rod Thomson
Silver Space
Sisters Akousmatica
Sonya Lifschitz
Tannery: Tasmanian Taiko and Leather Orchestra
The Daemons of Dissent
The Ghosts of Nothing featuring Laura Purcell
The Museum of Everything
Thembi Soddell
TSO Chorus extreme
Unconscious Collective


Tickets on sale 12pm Monday, 16th October

Friday, 12th — Monday, 22nd January
Various Venues, Hobart & Launceston
Tickets: MOFO

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more