Hot Chip Preview Upcoming Album With New Single, ‘Eleanor’

Hot Chip have shared the new single, ‘Eleanor’. It’s the latest taste of the London band’s forthcoming album, Freakout/Release, which will arrive on Friday, 19th August.

‘Eleanor’ follows ‘Down’, which was shared as the first single from the group’s upcoming eighth album. Equally shimmery and bouncy, ‘Eleanor’ warrants comparison to some of the group’s classic releases, such as their 2006 single, ‘Over And Over’.

Hot Chip – ‘Eleanor’

“It’s about the world smashing into you, waves crashing into you, all-encompassing pain, and how you have to walk through it,” vocalist Alexis Taylor said of the song in a press statement. “The verses are about separation when families are divided against their will.

“It’s about strong friends. It’s also about Samuel Beckett giving Andre the Giant lifts to school, and about how Beckett must have learned a lot from Andre’s wisdom.”

Freakout/Release is the first album from the group since A Bath Full Of Ecstasy, which came out in 2019. Promotion for the record was cut short somewhat due to the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, with Hot Chip playing their final show of 2020 in Australia at the Golden Plains festival.

Hot Chip – Freakout/Release

  • Down
  • Eleanor
  • Freakout/Release
  • Broken
  • Not Alone
  • Hard To Be Funky (feat. Lou Hayter)
  • Time
  • Miss the Blues
  • The Evil That Men Do (feat. Cadence Weapon)
  • Guilty
  • Out Of My Depth

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more