K-Pop Icons Girls’ Generation Will Release A New Album This August

Beloved K-pop group Girls’ Generation have confirmed that they’ll be releasing a new album this August.

The iconic K-popper acts return was announced by their label SM Entertainment, who shared that the record is timed to coincide with Girls’ Generation’s 15th anniversary.

The new album is Girls’ Generation’s first release since Holiday Night, which came out in 2017. All eight members of Girls’ Generation will participate in the album, which will arrive accompanied by TV appearances and a new reality series.

Since their debut, Girls’ Generation have released numerous hit tracks, including ‘Genie’, ‘Run Devil Run’, ‘Lion Heart’, and ‘Kissing You’ across six full-length records.

The reformation was teased by member Tiffany Young in a recent interview with Elle Korea. When asked if they had any plans to celebrate their 15th anniversary, Young replied, “I need confirmation before saying anything… yes, we do have something planned. That should be enough right? Yes, we have plans!”

The news of the brand new, as-yet-untitled Girls’ Generation album comes hot on the heels of the announcement of Girls’ Generation member Hyoyeon’s first solo mini-album, DEEP. The album’s title track was released on Monday, 16th May.

‘DEEP’ is an EDM pop song. The music video choreography was created by Street Woman Fighter star Honey J and is reminiscent of a spider, with Hyoyeon using a spider’s web as a metaphor for the way someone may have no choice but to be pulled in.

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more