Custom styles

Image for Karnivool Talk Making Iconic ‘Themata’ Album In Mini-DocoVia YouTube

Karnivool Talk Making Iconic ‘Themata’ Album In Mini-Doco

Written by Mitch Feltscheer on April 16, 2015

It still feels a little unbelievable that it’s been ten whole years since Karnivool’s impactful, game-changing debut album Themata first landed, but I guess it’s cool, I’m just an ancient, grizzly old man who will never feel the whims of youth ever again.

Thankfully Karnivool are set to bring a dense, distorted wave of nostalgia to myself and thousands of others who curled up in their teenage bedrooms in 2005 listening to Themata on repeat and wondering what the touch of a woman feels like (maybe just me on that one), with the Themata Decade Tour set to whip around the country from the end of the month.

To celebrate the ten-year anniversary, the Perth based lads have also released this short documentary which shines a light on the recording process of one of the most influential Aussie rock albums of the noughties.

Featuring old footage of the, then baby-faced, Karnivool boys, the video shows how they pieced together the “hodgepodge” of an album in their parent’s basement, all the while trying not to wake up mum.

Speaking recently to Music Feeds, Karnivool guitarist Mark Hosking discussed how important the album still is to the band and how he’d never change a thing about the admittedly ramshackle process it went through:

“That album started everything for us, man. For us, it was our baby. In many ways, we still look at it like that. Of course there’s things I’d change, but it’s pointless over-thinking it.”

Karnivool’s Themata Decade Tour kicks off around the country at the end of April. Check below the vid for dates and ticket details and stay tuned to Music Feeds for our full chat with “The Hoss” tomorrow.

Watch: Karnivool Themata Decade: The recording of Themata

Karnivool – Themata Decade Tour

Thursday, 30th April
Wollongong University, Wollongong
Tickets: Karnivool

Friday, 1st May
Panthers, Newcastle
Tickets: Karnivool

Saturday, 2nd May – SOLD OUT
Metro, Sydney
Tickets: Karnivool

Sunday, 3rd May – NEW SHOW
Metro, Sydney
Tickets: Karnivool

Thursday, 7th May
The Northern, Byron Bay
Tickets: Karnivool

Friday, 8th May
The Coolangatta Hotel, Coolangatta
Tickets: Karnviool

Saturday, 9th May – SOLD OUT
The Triffid, Brisbane
Tickets: Karnviool

Sunday, 10th May – NEW SHOW
The Triffid, Brisbane
Tickets: Karnviool

Tuesday, 12th May – SOLD OUT
The Corner Hotel, Melbourne
Tickets: Karnivool

Wednesday, 13th May – SOLD OUT
The Corner Hotel, Melbourne
Tickets: Karnivool

Thursday, 14th May – NEW SHOW
The Corner Hotel, Melbourne
Tickets: Karnivool

Friday, 15th May
Kay Street, Traralgon
Tickets: Karnviool

Saturday, 16th May
Wool Exchange, Geelong
Tickets: Karnivool

Tuesday, 19th May
The Gov, Adelaide
Tickets: Karnivool

Thursday, 21st May
Discovery, Darwin
Tickets: Karnivool

Friday, 22nd May
Metro City, Perth
Tickets: Karnivool

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

Ingage unit

Monitoring string

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"

Tracking script

Nielsen