Kylie Minogue
Kylie Minogue | Image: Darenote Ltd.

Kylie Minogue Releasing ‘Impossible Princess’ On Vinyl For 25th Anniversary

Just under 25 years since it was released, Impossible Princess by Kylie Minogue is getting a vinyl reissue. Announced this week ahead of the record’s silver anniversary on Saturday, 22nd October, the new edition will arrive one day shy of that forthcoming milestone.

Fans will be able to choose from orange, violet, or marble-coloured prints of the record, with all formats of the record to be housed in a gatefold sleeve with original artwork.

Kylie Minogue – ‘Did It Again’

Originally hitting the charts in 1997, Impossible Princess was Minogue’s sixth album, in hindsight a bold and experimental shift compared to her 1994 self-titled effort. Inspired by Britpop and ’90s-era techno, the record was a genre-shifting collection of work, showcasing Minogue’s versatility across electronica, trip-hop, and rock.

The record’s reception was somewhat divided at the time, going Platinum in her home country but only charting in Australia and the UK. The record did however spawn four singles- ‘Some Kind Of Bliss’, ‘Breathe’, ‘Cowboy Style’, and ‘Did It Again’, with the latter becoming Minogue’s last entry in triple j’s Hottest 100 to date.

Viewed on a longer scale, the record’s experimental nature and lower-than-expected sales numbers may have been a factor in Minogue refocusing her sound, ultimately leading to the more polished pop direction that would follow on 2000’s Light Years and 2001’s now-iconic Fever. Pre-orders for the vinyl reissue of Impossible Princess are available now.

Kylie Minogue – Impossible Princess

  1. Too Far
  2. Cowboy Style
  3. Some Kind Of Bliss
  4. Did It Again
  5. Breathe
  6. Say Hey
  7. Drunk
  8. I Don’t Need Anyone
  9. Jump
  10. Limbo
  11. Through The Years
  12. Dreams

Further Reading

Kylie Minogue and Jason Donovan Share ‘Neighbours’ Reunion Photos

Curate Your Own Festival Lineup With These Music Films

Kylie Minogue Shares Music Video For Gloria Gaynor Disco Collaboration

Must Read