Listen: St. Vincent & David Byrne New Collab ‘Love This Giant’ + New Track

David Byrne & St. Vincent will release their new album, Love This Giant worldwide this September. Recorded over two years, the album is a collaboration in the truest sense of the word, with Byrne and St. Vincent (aka Annie Clark) co-writing ten of the album’s twelve tracks, and each artist penning one song individually. See below for complete tracklisting, and download album opener Who.

“There was no delineating what the roles were”, explains Clark of the recording. “It’s a collaboration I’m truly proud of.” The duo also split lyrical and vocal duties on the record, which despite eschewing a traditional guitar/bass/drums lineup in favour of idiosyncratic horn arrangements, presents itself as infectious and modern hook-laden rock.

Byrne and Clark met in 2009 at the ‘Dark Was the Night’ benefit at Radio City Music Hall and were approached shortly after by the Housing Works Bookstore to collaborate on a night of music. They began composing remotely, trading song ideas and structures online while Clark toured, and it quickly became apparent that they had more than just one night of music in them. Byrne performed with Clark at her ‘American Songbook’ show at Lincoln Center in 2010, and Clark contributed vocals to Byrne’s Here Lies Love album, released the same year.

David Byrne & St. Vincent ‘Love This Giant’ Tracklisting

1. Who

2. Weekend in the Dust

3. Dinner For Two

4. Ice Age

5. I Am An Ape

6. The Forest Awakes

7. I Should Watch TV

8. Lazarus

9. Optimist

10. Lightning

11. The One Who Broke Your Heart (featuring The Dap-Kings and Antibalas)

12. Outside of Space & Time

Must Read