Image: Facebook

Major Lazer To Release Two Albums This Year

Electronic dancehall project Major Lazer will be dropping their latest release, Peace Is the Mission, this June and according to one third of the outfit, Diplo, we’ll also get another full length Major Lazer release this year.

Peace Is My Mission will follow-up 2013’s Free the Universe and last year’s Apocalypse Soon EP. Its tracklist features a slew of collaborators including MØ & DJ Snake, Ellie Goulding, Travi$ Scott, 2 Chainz, Pusha T and Ariana Grande.

Speaking to triple j today, Diplo also revealed he and Major Lazer bandmates Jillionaire and Walshy Fire also spent some time working with No Doubt’s Gwen Stefani on a song that will appear on the second Major Lazer album to be released later this year.

“We did two songs with her. One we didn’t use her voice on it [and] we have another song that’s amazing that we’ve put to the second album because this is a two album series,” he explained. “One [Peace Is The Mission] is out on June 1 and one’s going to be out in November, her record’s on that one. It sounds like a big classic reggae No Doubt kind of vibe and she sounds awesome on it.”

Diplo said the second, as-yet-untitled, album is currently 20 tacks strong, but they plan on cutting that down to nine, the same number of songs on Peace Is The Mission. “That’s kind of as much music that a person can handle right now. There’s so much music coming out that I don’t want any of these songs to get lost, I want them all to have their own life.”

Diplo also shed some light on the much anticipated Major Lazer animated series, confirming that the show will premiere on the Fox FX network in April this year.

Major Lazer have delivered a taste of their forthcoming Peace Is The Mission album, via the new video for their track Lean On, inspired by their travels in India. See the clip below, followed by the Peace Is The Mission tracklist.

Watch: Major Lazer & DJ Snake – Lean On (feat. MØ)

Photos:Major Lazer – Big Day Out 2014, Gold Coast 19/01/14. Photographed by Rebecca Reid

Peace Is The Mission Tracklist

1. Be Together [feat. Wild Belle]

2. Too Original [feat. Elliphant & Jovi Rockwell]

3. Blaze Up The Fire [feat. Chronixx]

4. Lean On [feat. MØ & DJ Snake]

5. Powerful [feat. Ellie Goulding & Tarrus Riley]

6. Light It Up [feat. Nyla]

7. Roll the Bass

8. Night Riders [feat. Travi$ Scott, 2 Chainz, Pusha T & Mad Cobra]

9. All My Love [feat. Ariana Grande & Machel Montano (Remix)]

Must Read